Homestead
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Love Games, Love 'Em!!!
badge
Check out DiceTower.com!
mbmbmbmbmb
I write this review as I come back from a game day at the school where I am a teacher. We played quite a few games, but one of the most popular – and a game I use at almost any gathering of children – was tug of war. There’s just something about having 20 children on each side of a rope, pulling with all their might, straining and heaving. What’s even more fun is when the children match up against the teachers, and drag them across the floor. Heave Ho! is a game that simulates the wonderful game of Tug of War, in a Scottish setting.

So is this two-player game in the Kosmos series (designed by Richard Borg in 2002) worth your time? My answer is that while not overly strategic, I have found it to be a remarkably fun and funny experience. Let’s explain a bit more…

First, a synopsis of game play…

A long, thin board is placed between the players. There are six spaces on the board, three facing each player. The three spaces are different colors (red, blue, and green), and show a Scotsman pulling a rope, with a value of “2”. There is also a scoring track on the board, made up of 12 spaces. Five whisky barrels are placed next to the board, and a deck of 55 cards is shuffled. Twenty cards are dealt to each player, and the rest of the cards are set aside, not to be used in this round of the game.