Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: End of Villain Turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If an end of villain turn effect causes the villain to play a card with an end of turn effect, does that new card's abiltiy trigger this turn? I was thinking it was no but I'm starting to think otherwise...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
It does.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Dieckmann
United States
Bronx
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
New rules say Start of turn, and end of turn effects trigger in order of having entered play so new card would trigger that turn yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Even without the question of order of play, that card came into play during the "end of turn" phase.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wood
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
Even without the question of order of play, that card came into play during the "end of turn" phase.


Correct, and as there is no 'holding' area for new cards to avoid their effects, any text on a played card is used as the line of played cards is scanned during the start/end of turn. That line just got longer, which makes for some powerful effects from some of the villains.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro F
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In the Enhanced Edition Rulebook and in the first edition rulebook, the rule says "Follow any instruction on any cards in play which occur at the end of the villain turn". If a card enter play at the end of the turn is a card in play with a effect that occur at the end of the villain turn, so follow it instructions. The rule is somewhat hidden, but it is there.
Hope it helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Von Chicken Pants
msg tools
This tripped me up at first. In Magic 'Start of Turn' is the exact moment the turn starts.

Sentinel's Start of turn is analogous to at some point during Magic's Upkeep. There's no commonly used MTG equivalent for the wording to trigger Sentinels cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.