Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Supreme Commander» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Supplied home country city"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Björn H
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi the rules for placement of new units says:

"New units are placed in a friendly, supplied home country city or port"

Is there a reason for explicitly stating that it must be supplied? I mean, aren't all cities and ports in your home contry automatically supplied (since they are supply sources)?

/ Björn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point...yes, the 'supplied' would appear unnecessary. Not sure if there would be a weird situation where a home country city might not be 'supplied'...maybe if a country is completely conquered???

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cawley
United States
Anthem
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you can't build in a city that has an enemy unit sitting on it.

;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gromenauer Jaaarl
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What about if the supply source is ZOCed, even if they are in the ZOC too, as per:
Quote:

HQs are in supply if:
• They are within four hexes of a supply source (7.2.1) or
• They can trace a supply line up to four hexes* to a hex
containing a rail line (hereafter “rail hex”), which can then
trace a path over any number of contiguous rail hexes back
to its supply source; or
• They are in any port or can trace a supply line up to four
hexes* to a valid port, which can then trace over any number
of Sea Zones to its supply source (the port may not be in a
non-negated EZOC); or
• They are in, or adjacent to a supply sourse, provided that
supply source is not in a non-negated EZOC; or


or

Quote:
Non-HQ land units are in supply if:
• They can trace a supply line up to four hexes* to an in-supply
HQ on their side; or
• They are on or adjacent to a rail hex which can then trace a
path of contiguous rail hexes back to a supply source; or
• They are in any port, or adjacent to a valid port, which can trace
supply over any number of Sea Zones to a supply source; or
They are in, or adjacent to a supply course, provided that
supply source is not in a non-negated EZOC
; or


I understand that "sourse" and "course" stand for "source".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe 3.3 explicitly allows placement of units in a city if it is unoccupied.

The 'supply' really should be removed because 'supply' is generally with regard to UNITs, not hexes. I.e. either a /unit/ is in supply or not...not a hex, per se.

Another way to look at it, is that as soon as the unit is placed in the city, it becomes in supply...hence the placement is legal.

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.