Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Kraftwagen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do the laps reset each turn and who wins the Grand Prix race? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On another thread the following question was raised:

Uli Blennemann wrote:

Quote:
Grand Prix scoring. When we score 1st 2nd and 3rd place for 7/4/2 VP, it seems we don't take into account the number of laps...true ? Just want to make sure and have confirmation.


Yes.


Sleeran wrote:
dourdou wrote:
For the second question: just to be sure: it's the first person in the race regardless of the number of laps who wins the 7 points? It's so strange

And so the number of laps never resets during the game?


No, the number of laps matters - of course. It's a race ...
And yes, the number of laps will also reset after each round.


It seems that Uli and Sleeran(publisher and designer respectively) are contradicting each other here? Uli says it is the track only that determines the winner in a turn and by implication laps only count at the end game (which makes sense given it is very difficult to do more than 2 laps per turn);

but Matthias says laps and race track count each turn (which makes sense as it is a race but why so many laps on the board, you'll never get to 5 laps in one turn).

I am confused.


Please could either of you confirm who is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Fuerst-Brunner
Germany
Neuching
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is all in the rulebook:

Quote:
I. Scoring of Grand-Prix Race

Now the first three places in the Grand-Prix race are
determined.
The players receive the following white
price markers from the supply:

• 1st place: 7 points
• 2nd place: 4 points
• 3rd place: 2 points

In addition, each player may get white price markers
for the number of completed laps:

• 1 lap: 1 point
• 2 laps: 3 points
• 3 laps: 5 points
• 4 laps: 6 points
• 5 laps: 7 points (for each additional lap +1 point)

The players take the respective white price markers from the
supply next to the game board.

The cars are now placed back into the pit lane as the
players will be starting a new race in the following
turn
.


(Emphasis are mine)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Cramer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
To simplify it: it is a race. So laps do certainly count ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Cramer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
duckworp wrote:

but Matthias says laps and race track count each turn (which makes sense as it is a race but why so many laps on the board, you'll never get to 5 laps in one turn).


Round, not turn. There are three rounds followed by a scoring after each one. After each round, the race is scored (incl. laps) and reset (incl. laps).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sleeran wrote:
duckworp wrote:

but Matthias says laps and race track count each turn (which makes sense as it is a race but why so many laps on the board, you'll never get to 5 laps in one turn).


Round, not turn. There are three rounds followed by a scoring after each one. After each round, the race is scored (incl. laps) and reset (incl. laps).


Thanks. I referred to the rounds as 'Turns' as that is what the English rules do.
This appears to be a translation problem as "rounds" is the more common way to define them.

Is it really possible to get to five laps in one round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cyberian wrote:
It is all in the rulebook:



Yes it is but I asked the question as Uli (the publisher) clearly agreed with another poster when he/she stated that laps do not count nor are reset when scoring the race each round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uli Blennemann
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
In the end, Matthias is always right!

Uli
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederic Colard
Belgium
Ath
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The price markers for the laps seems very poor. If I well understand the rule, with 4 laps you win just 6 points and not 1+3+5+6. Not sure the the Grand Prix race it is interresting. Any advice about it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Vecstric
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sleeran wrote:
To simplify it: it is a race. So laps do certainly count ...

If one want to simplify, wouldn't you then say it is actually THREE, separate, races, each with its' own winners and loosers and lap-counters? (Since they reset each round)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cyberian wrote:
It is all in the rulebook:

Quote:
I. Scoring of Grand-Prix Race

Now the first three places in the Grand-Prix race are
determined.
The players receive the following white
price markers from the supply:

• 1st place: 7 points
• 2nd place: 4 points
• 3rd place: 2 points

In addition, each player may get white price markers
for the number of completed laps:

• 1 lap: 1 point
• 2 laps: 3 points
• 3 laps: 5 points
• 4 laps: 6 points
• 5 laps: 7 points (for each additional lap +1 point)

The players take the respective white price markers from the
supply next to the game board.

The cars are now placed back into the pit lane as the
players will be starting a new race in the following
turn
.


(Emphasis are mine)


the rules never say how to determine the winner of said race other than outside knowledge inferences of what a "race" is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
duckworp wrote:

Is it really possible to get to five laps in one round?


I've played the game 3 times and haven't seen anyone get 5 laps. However it's possible. In a four player game there's 3 less spaces needed to complete a lap. If you're maxed out on your race car engine on one Grand Prix action you've completed 1 lap. Can you do 5 Grand Prix actions in a round? Certainly but at what price (which is a key component of the game)?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.