Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Alchemists» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Worker Cube allocation. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
-During one pass during a round, if something happens earlier which forbids a later action, if the later action has a cube, can that be reallocated? Or must the cube remain where it is, with that action simply becoming ignored (not specifically actioned)?

-Can such a cube then, later, count to the unallocated cubes area for the end of the round?

-If something influences the choice of a later allocated cube, once the round commences, such as in Gathering Ingredients that the opponent takes an ingredient card you had begun to assume by, can later allocations be changed? In the situation where you have set up the shop to sell a buyer's particular category and a guarantee, but the required ingredient is not gathered beforehand, may you adjust the guarantee, or in fact not? what happens there, as a clarification?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Cant
United Kingdom
Retford, Notts
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you choose not to use a cube or can't use a cube (eg all the artifacts were bought before your turn or everyone tried to sell a potion and you came in last position) you take the sore cubes and place them in the unused cube spot on the board (next to the exhibitions place) near the top.

At the end of the round for every two cubes of your colour you have there you draw 1 favour card.

Not great strategy but nice consolation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Duke
United Kingdom
Fleet
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-If something influences the choice of a later allocated cube, once the round commences, such as in Gathering Ingredients that the opponent takes an ingredient card you had begun to assume by, can later allocations be changed? In the situation where you have set up the shop to sell a buyer's particular category and a guarantee, but the required ingredient is not gathered beforehand, may you adjust the guarantee, or in fact not? what happens there, as a clarification?

You handle each action space in order. In your example, when you come to the Sell Potions action, you only choose the discount you will offer after the Gather Ingredients and Transmute Ingredients spaces (and any Custodian favour cards) have been dealt with. You can then decide what to do based on what ingredients you have and what everyone else has done. And only when the discounts have been compared and the player order is decided do you then, in turn, decide what potion to make and guarantee to offer, or to pass the action and move your cubes to the unused cubes space (where you will get a favour card at the end of the round since the Sell Potions action takes two cubes), regardless of what you originally planned when you placed your action cubes.
You can never move cubes somewhere else (unless a Favour or Artifact card grants you that ability - I don't think there are any that do this... yet devil).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Canner
United Kingdom
Exeter
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-During one pass during a round, if something happens earlier which forbids a later action, if the later action has a cube, can that be reallocated?

No. During a round, if something happens earlier, which prevents a later action, the cube on the later action CANNOT be reallocated.

Zachary1234 wrote:
Or must the cube remain where it is, with that action simply becoming ignored (not specifically actioned)?

The cube doesn't have to remain where it is. You can move it to the unused cubes space.

Zachary1234 wrote:
-Can such a cube then, later, count to the unallocated cubes area for the end of the round?

Yes. You can move it to the unused cubes space.

Zachary1234 wrote:
-If something influences the choice of a later allocated cube, once the round commences, such as in Gathering Ingredients that the opponent takes an ingredient card you had begun to assume by, can later allocations be changed? In the situation where you have set up the shop to sell a buyer's particular category and a guarantee, but the required ingredient is not gathered beforehand, may you adjust the guarantee, or in fact not? what happens there, as a clarification?

As Gary says, nobody specifies any guarantee until AFTER the Gather Ingredients and Transmute Ingredients spaces have been dealt with. If someone has just taken the ingredient you wanted, you can respond by offering the lowest guarantee.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
As Gary says, nobody specifies any guarantee until AFTER the Gather Ingredients and Transmute Ingredients spaces have been dealt with. If someone has just taken the ingredient you wanted, you can respond by offering the lowest guarantee.


-This might imply that a player can, in theory, commence playing a round having intentionally chosen not to allocate a cube at all. Is this true?

-In the highlighted case here, there would have to be a remaining cube for the guarantee. Is that cube kept with the player, or temporarily in the unused cube space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher McArthur
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
mb
Zachary1234 wrote:
Quote:
As Gary says, nobody specifies any guarantee until AFTER the Gather Ingredients and Transmute Ingredients spaces have been dealt with. If someone has just taken the ingredient you wanted, you can respond by offering the lowest guarantee.


-This might imply that a player can, in theory, commence playing a round having intentionally chosen not to allocate a cube at all. Is this true?

-In the highlighted case here, there would have to be a remaining cube for the guarantee. Is that cube kept with the player, or temporarily in the unused cube space?


No... It doesn't imply this at all...?

You have to assign two cubes to the sell actions space. When it is your turn to sell, you place one of those cubes on the guarantee, and one of those cubes on the potion you are going to sell. OR you place both cubes into the unused actions space and don't sell.

Thats all. The cubes for selling are always assigned during normal worker allocation, and they are always the two used for guaranteeing and potion selection, and they are always resolved in order, and they can never be re-assigned. There is nothing in the rulebook about holding onto temporary cubes, or late assigning.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
-Players have their bottle tokens placed on a player order position. Is this player order, or player priority? Does one player place one cube, and then the next player place on cube, etc. through all players? Or does one player place all their cubes, then the next plater all theirs?

-If one player uses 5 cubes to gather 5 face up ingredients, and the next player has at least one cube on gather ingredients, do the face up ingredients in fact get repopulated then, or not? May the second player draw their cubes' worth of face down ingredients, or in fact draw no ingredients, with that many sore cubes being their result?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Cant
United Kingdom
Retford, Notts
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player order track dictates how the cubes are placed.

Last place places ALL their cubes first, then the next player.

So the first player places last but resolves first.

To resolve you work your way down the column then onto the next row of cubes.

So ingredients are taken one at a time, first player then the next etc. once everyone who placed cubes has taken one, then if the first player put a second cube then he wil take his second, then down the column.

This is how all spaces are resolved except the sell potion space
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
-What happens if the area for face up gather ingredients is empties, but there are more worker cubes placed there to take more?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Cant
United Kingdom
Retford, Notts
England
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You draw blind from the deck.

This is always an option btw
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kurt Schweiger
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes it looks like someone's making the rulebook up asking basic questions here without having it or without having read it, which in the end would take less time and is funnier with its ambient...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher McArthur
United States
Santa Monica
California
flag msg tools
mb
Zachary, the rulebook is available online here, in case you don't have it.
http://czechgames.com/files/rules/alchemists-rules-en.pdf
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-Players have their bottle tokens placed on a player order position. Is this player order, or player priority? Does one player place one cube, and then the next player place on cube, etc. through all players? Or does one player place all their cubes, then the next plater all theirs?

-If one player uses 5 cubes to gather 5 face up ingredients, and the next player has at least one cube on gather ingredients, do the face up ingredients in fact get repopulated then, or not? May the second player draw their cubes' worth of face down ingredients, or in fact draw no ingredients, with that many sore cubes being their result?


Hi. Your English is good, and I don't wish to be rude, but from these questions, I have to say that it looks like you haven't read the rulebook at all.

The rulebook is clear that players do not place cubes one at a time. They place them all at once, in reverse player order.

Also..... How exactly can one player place 5 cubes on gathering ingredients. i suggest you re-read the section on placing cubes again.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
It's okay. No more responses. Yes, I have found the rulebook!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wood
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zachary1234 wrote:
-If one player uses 5 cubes to gather 5 face up ingredients, and the next player has at least one cube on gather ingredients....


This is not possible and may be why you experiencing the angst you are figuring out where to play.

Each player gets one row at each action spot, the lowest one available. They do not get to put action cubes on any other row and are limited to the number of actions as there are columns in that row. Also, the resolution of each action space is by column across, then row down. This means the first cube at the top of the first column takes an action, then the second cube below in the same column gets an action. Once the column is emptied, then do the same for each additional column.

This means that the top player gets one ingredient, followed by everyone else Gathering before they get to choose another ingredient.

Hope that helps
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Cinnibar wrote:
Also, the resolution of each action space is by column across, then row down. This means the first cube at the top of the first column takes an action, then the second cube below in the same column gets an action.


Down, then across?

(checks rules)

Well....

We've been playing THAT wrong...

shake
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Wionzek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jsciv wrote:
Well....

We've been playing THAT wrong...

shake


I'm not surprised, I had to read how allocation/turn-order works 3-4 times before I grokked it. This game sets up much differently than a lot of Euros I've had my hands on.

Not only do you put ALL your tokens out before resolving, but you ALSO resolve in reverse order. That's reversed from most games in either one respect or the other, but it's reversed in BOTH in this game. surprise

Turn order is pretty darn important in this game...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dragoonkin wrote:
Not only do you put ALL your tokens out before resolving, but you ALSO resolve in reverse order. That's reversed from most games in either one respect or the other, but it's reversed in BOTH in this game.

Erm..... you don't resolve in reverse order. You place in reverse order, but resolve IN actual turn order.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.