Hide
19 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Understandable rules translations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] [View All]
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm a French native who's been living in the UK for 10 years, I'm a translator and (d'errr!) a boardgame geek.

Because the translations that exist are sometimes hard to decipher (though occasionally quite funny), I've occasionally translated rules for fun and am still happy to do so (feel free to ask).

I've got 2 questions for you all:
Do you care about the quality of the translation when you're buying a game?
Do you think games creators/manufacturers do?

Cheers.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I care a great deal about the English translations, but if I can get official answers here to all my questions, I'll buy the game anyways. It seems to me that many non-English publishers don't even put in a single day's effort to translate their rules into English. There are lots of awkward phrases, incorrect words, bad grammar--all leading to possible ambiguities. There's also incorrect hyphenation, which is surprising since it shows they aren't even using simple spellchecker tools. Making a reasonable effort to translate natively is just one of the many things that gives me a good feeling about a company and a game. If I can find 30 problems in one pass through the rules, then they didn't do their job.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michelle Zentis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I usually don't read the English rules before buying a game, so it's unlikely to influence my initial decision. An appallingly bad rules translation is likely to influence subsequent purchasing decisions from that publisher, however.