Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about coups and realignment rolls rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Manu
China
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello,


I would like to know


1- if attempting a coup on any country lowers the defcon level or only on certsin countries.

2. If realignment rolls modify the defcon level

3- how many military actions is a coup worth

4- how many military actions is 1 realignment roll


We played the game for the first time last night and we weren't clear about those points (among others but those were the main points of contention...)


Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) only coups of battleground countries lower DEFCON (this does not include Taiwan if under Formosoan Resolution).

2) No, but the allowable regions are DEFCON restricted the same as coups, i.e., DEFCON must be 5 to realign in Europe (does not appply to the event Tear Down This Wall).

3) I believe it's worth the OPS value of the card used to coup.

4) Zero. The only ways to get military operations (off the top of my head) are coups, war cards like Indo-Pakistani War, and the How I Learned to Stop Worrying event.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen
Belgium
Rotselaar
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alexdrazen wrote:
3) I believe it's worth the OPS value of the card used to coup.

that's correct
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
alexdrazen wrote:
3) I believe it's worth the OPS value of the card used to coup.


... including any +/- modifiers from e.g. Red Scare or Vietnam Revolts.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emil Wachsmuth
msg tools
mb
turbothy wrote:
alexdrazen wrote:
3) I believe it's worth the OPS value of the card used to coup.


... including any +/- modifiers from e.g. Red Scare or Vietnam Revolts.


But not Latin American Death Squads or SALT Negotiations, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Wachsmuth wrote:
turbothy wrote:
alexdrazen wrote:
3) I believe it's worth the OPS value of the card used to coup.


... including any +/- modifiers from e.g. Red Scare or Vietnam Revolts.


But not Latin American Death Squads or SALT Negotiations, correct?


No, those are +1/-1 die roll modifiers, not +1/-1 Operations value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook 2009:

1: Rule 6.3.4
2: Rule 6.2
3: Rule 6.3.3
4: Rule 6.2
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu
China
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thank you all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.