Rio de Janeiro
Oh and in 2p mode... Yellow Signs power says he must give 3 doom to "another player" as opposed to another faction. I assume he can give the 3 doom to the other faction the player controls?
I assumed it was exactly because of two-player games that the text says "player" instead of "faction". Either way, it just doesn't feel right to be allowed to choose your other faction for this benefit.
On the other question, I thought it was a kind of golden rule that units lost are always chosen by the player losing them, and having other cultists in the same area would prevent losing the one controlling the gate. How about Cthulhu's pre-battle ability?