Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rezzing upgrades, ChiLo City Grid rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Putnam
United States
Lowell
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chilo needs to be rezzed before the subroutine resolves. Referring to the timing chart in the FAQ, this would have to be at step 2.3 - just after the runner commits to encountering the ICE (either by this being the first piece of ICE in the server, or the runner choosing to not jack out after passing the previous ICE).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Morris
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is that a card with a conditional ability must be active when the trigger condition is met in order for that ability to trigger. If the card is inactive (for example, because it is unrezzed), then the card text essentially doesn't exist and would never even see that the trigger condition happened.

So when a card "needs" to be rezzed, which for most people is the last possible moment I can do it so that my opponent can't do anything about it, depends on the card. In this case, Brian has the right idea. Rez it during the approach at step 2.3. This is the last chance both before the Runner encounters the ice and would suffer the trace subroutine and after the Runner has committed to encountering that ice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Vaduva
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jakodrako wrote:
The rule is that a card with a conditional ability must be active when the trigger condition is met in order for that ability to trigger. If the card is inactive (for example, because it is unrezzed), then the card text essentially doesn't exist and would never even see that the trigger condition happened.


Isn't there an exception (or seeming exception) to this rule for first time each turn effects? Or are those cards not considered conditional? (If so, what are they called?)

For example. If you draw Symmetrical Visage first click, then install it click 2, you cannot use it to gain 1 credit for drawing click 3. Correct?

Or, making a successful run on R&D through some unrezzed ice, then installing Grifter and gaining a credit at the end of the turn. Correct?

From the discussion I've seen on the first time each turn effects, it's that card reads the game state and knows when it's the first, second, etc. action. Or maybe I'm confused with the pre-FAQ 2.0 ruling for Crisium Grid and Security Testing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tim, you are correct - these cards are asking the game state whether these events were the first instance. They indeed work differently because they use the word "first".

Grifter's a bit of a weird case because its condition is "when your turn ends", and it just asks the game state then (Grifter itself wasn't watching for you making a successful run). However, if Grifter were somehow installed as part of a "when your turn ends" trigger, it would neither pay a credit nor trash itself as it wasn't active for its trigger (of your turn ending).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Morris
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are no exceptions here. If you click to draw and draw Symmetrical Visage, then install it and click to draw again, that is the second time you have drawn by spendinng a click. This means that Symmetrical Visage doesn't trigger at all. It doesn't even care one bit about that draw. It's listening for the event "draw with click the first time in a turn". "Draw with a click for the second time in a turn" wouldn't even register (not even to ask if this is the first time the event happened or not because it already knows).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.