Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Close Action» Forums » Rules

Subject: -1 Acceleration because of hits on riggings and MA=0 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

we are currently playing scenario 21 and the Rivoli (class 2 ship) has reached acceleration-1 because of hits on riggings. It is currently at speed 0, and as it has only acceleration 1 I'm not sure it can move.
Am I right?

Cheers

Pascal
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Lewis
United States
flag msg tools
Inherent acceleration cannot fall below 1 due to loss of rigging, until the ship is dismasted.

The -1 to Accel after the 2nd Rigging section is lost means that the original Accel value (2 for SOL & heavy frigates, 3 for some lighter ships) is reduced by 1. This means down to an accel capability of 1 per game turn for most ships.

At current speed 0 even a ship with only half rigging CAN accel by 1, to an initial Movement Point of 1. Which can increase over succeeding turns, accelerating by 1 MP per turn.

HOWEVER, if that ship is currently in a wind facing (close hauled) where the maximum allowed movement, as shown on the ship sheet, is 0, then the only way that the available movement point can be used is to pivot away from the wind into an orientation that allows some forward movement.

Note that there ARE some effects on the Critical Hit table which can drive the accel value of a ship down to 0. These are generally temporary, but in severely damaged ships may occasionally be effectively irrecoverable. In THOSE circumstances, with an accel of 0 and a current speed of 0, then the ship indeed cannot move other than drifting.

Enjoy.

Bob Lewis
CA playtester (Mark Campbell's neighbor)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks a lot Bob for your reply
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Lewis
United States
flag msg tools
I left out 2 idiosyncrasies, which I have now checked with Mark.
(Also clarified in the Monsoon Seas scenario booklet errata.)

1) When a ship with current movement points of 0 is pivoting to a better facing, or actually when ANY ship with a current speed of 0 performs only a change of facing with no forward movement, then that ship is still considered to be accelerating from 0 in the next game turn as well. Further, if a ship which CAN accelerate by 2+ performs a pivot as the initial action when accelerating from 0, then that pivot is the only maneuver she is allowed, and she is still accelerating from 0 in the next game turn. (The ship is considered to have not gained any steerage way.)

1) When facing and sail condition constrains current movement points to 0, the pivot to a better wind facing is not automatic. It must be checked (diced) against the Poor Maneuvering Table.

Bob Lewis,
CA playtester
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for these clarifications
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.