Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

California Gold» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Questions regarding Farm Reports and Advertising rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Symington
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The rules about advertising say that after an advertising farm report card is played, the chips on the appropriate adv. level are removed. However, there is an adv. farm report that says players may not get grove cards unless they have advertising, but does not say the chips are to be removed. Is this a case of a card trumping rules?

2. Buildings can not be used until the round after they are built - does that apply to agency actions as well? Say the farm report card is the one mentioned above - no grove cards unless you have advertising. A player w/o adv. has a nursery and wants to take a grove card as a supplemental action - can s/he buy advertising and the take the grove card, or is the adv. not considered active until the following round?
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Two rules questions
This is definitely not official, but here's how we'd play:

1. We haven't been removing the chips from advertising for this card. Will be interested to hear whether this is correct or it was an oversight.

2. We play that whatever state is in effect at the time the Farm Report card is played affects how the round is played out. So, in this case, the player(s) cannot "go back in time" to cancel the effect of the card by buying advertising.

Good questions, and hope I'm right!

Doug
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
patrick stevens
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Two rules questions
OFFICIAL CHIME IN.
1. Yes this is not an oversight, it is an exception as it is one of the few beneficial cards.
2. No, though you are correct that this is not implicitly stated in the rules, in this case the thrust is that no buildings or actions can be utilized the same turn as they are executed. So Doug is correct.
Pat
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Symington
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Two rules questions
Thanks, Patrick!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.