Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

March of the Ants» Forums » Rules

Subject: ANT KOMBAT... FINISH HIM! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Odom
msg tools
mb
Heeeeeyyyy everybody...

We're having a blast playing this game. Every time we've played so far it offers something new and interest. On our last play of the game, one of the other players took a huge gamble on the last round and decided to take up a bunch of collection sites from the get go, thinking we wouldn't be interested in reclaiming said hexes and collection sites.

As one may imagine, the other players were not happy and didn't want to spend a food to explore a non - inner meadow hex and then another food to optimize the collection sites. Plus we figured that we'd be in for some last round victory points by whooping up on said player.

He had about six battles, four of which were in contested hexes with other players and two with centipedes (Event card). Anyway, he wasn't happy and was curious about the wording in the rule book about casualties in the soldier phase. On page 10, it says that the losing player loses ants equal to the army strength of the winning ant. Since the army strength includes the number of ants, and since the victory would mean that the number is more than the number of ants, his logic is that there is a typo or a situation where a player won't lose all their cubes because it doesn't specifically say "All the losing ants". The other players at the table believe that the wording of this is to imply that there would be a situation where you can decrease an ant's battle strength to below the number of ants and in that situation - there may still be ants on the hex. We didn't find any event cards that would do this, or any situation that would make this possible - we figured that eventually it would come to pass. Of course the losing player also asked if there were still losing ants in the hex left over and the losing ants were on the outskirts again, would this trigger another battle?

We're pretty sure he's sore about losing, but we're curious about the wording in the rulebook.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
minorujco wrote:
Heeeeeyyyy everybody...

We're having a blast playing this game. Every time we've played so far it offers something new and interest. On our last play of the game, one of the other players took a huge gamble on the last round and decided to take up a bunch of collection sites from the get go, thinking we wouldn't be interested in reclaiming said hexes and collection sites.

As one may imagine, the other players were not happy and didn't want to spend a food to explore a non - inner meadow hex and then another food to optimize the collection sites. Plus we figured that we'd be in for some last round victory points by whooping up on said player.

He had about six battles, four of which were in contested hexes with other players and two with centipedes (Event card). Anyway, he wasn't happy and was curious about the wording in the rule book about casualties in the soldier phase. On page 10, it says that the losing player loses ants equal to the army strength of the winning ant. Since the army strength includes the number of ants, and since the victory would mean that the number is more than the number of ants, his logic is that there is a typo or a situation where a player won't lose all their cubes because it doesn't specifically say "All the losing ants". The other players at the table believe that the wording of this is to imply that there would be a situation where you can decrease an ant's battle strength to below the number of ants and in that situation - there may still be ants on the hex. We didn't find any event cards that would do this, or any situation that would make this possible - we figured that eventually it would come to pass. Of course the losing player also asked if there were still losing ants in the hex left over and the losing ants were on the outskirts again, would this trigger another battle?

We're pretty sure he's sore about losing, but we're curious about the wording in the rulebook.



You will not necessarily lose all your ants. Lets say Player 1 has 4 ants in a hex and no head evolutions (for a strength of 4), Player 2 has 1 ant and one head evolution (for an army strength of 2). A battle commences. Player 1 plays no cards (total strength for battle 4), Player 2 plays a 4 value card (total strength for battle 6). Player 2 is the victor. Player 1 loses ants equal to Player 2's number of ants and head evolutions (2). Player 1 would have 2 ants left. That's why it doesn't say "lost all ants". Remember the strength added to a battle by a played card does not count towards army strength when calculating losses.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FEROCITY value of cards played do not affect casualties. Only QTY of ants + HEAD EVOLUTIONS.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Odom
msg tools
mb
Ah - okay.

We assumed through the wording that when you add the Ferocity to their Army Strength, it's counted as part of the Army Strength (if you have $1.00 item and add .10 cent tax, the total is 1.10, not $1).

But I can see now that it makes more sense since you state the Army Strength First and then chose the card and then it "helps" but isn't part of the Army Strength.

Thanks for the clarification guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Odom
msg tools
mb
you know what...

If we bothered to look at the diagram below the solider phase rules on page 10... I wouldn't have asked such a noob question...

thanks guys!!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Riddle

Oklahoma
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
don't forget the winner will not lose the last ant
we forgot that on the first few games

makes a big difference
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
brokasaphasia wrote:
The FEROCITY value of cards played do not affect casualties. Only QTY of ants + HEAD EVOLUTIONS.


Oops. Turns out I've been doing casualties wrong.

-Tom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scout13 wrote:
don't forget the winner will not lose the last ant
we forgot that on the first few games

makes a big difference


Took me a couple of games to realize that one too. Makes a massive difference, especially in solo play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Odom
msg tools
mb
scout13 wrote:
don't forget the winner will not lose the last ant
we forgot that on the first few games

makes a big difference


Yeah, we knew about the lone survivor rule - that made sense because it wasn't like winning without someone living in the end. Some how we missed the actual army strength rule. do'h!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.