Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Blocks in Afrika» Forums » Rules

Subject: Production Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

I have a couple of questions.

1. When using the Navy and Vichy France is declared, the 2 Yellow PP in French North Africa are supposed to go to Germany but does a naval unit need to be in the Western Med convoy box for that to happen? If so, does that mean an Italian vessel?

2. Belgium surrendered but there is a French unit still in Brussels. Germany does not get the 1 Yellow PP for Brussels. Then Vichy France is declared and the French unit goes away. Does Germany immediately get the 1 Yellow PP from Brussels or does a German unit need to take physical control of the city? At the moment, there is only a German unit next to Brussels -- but there is also a British unit in supply next to Brussels (all alone on the Continent since Vichy was declared). The British unit obviously won't last long...

Greg
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg,

these are interesting.

1. YES (or German is Gibraltar is fallen).

2. According to the rules, when a Power surrenders (as France did in this case) then all hexes controlled by that Power are now controlled by the conquering Power - unless controlled (either by units or by their ZOC) of another Power (friendly to France - UK ).

Thus, even if there is a British unit adjacent to Brussels, his ZOC does not extend into a major city.

Brussels is then effectively controlled by the Germans.

ALL THE BEST

emanuele
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Everything is clear.

At the present time, I don't see Seeloewe as a prospect. July 1940 was a costly month for the German forces. The decision was made not to attempt a blitz into Paris in order to preserve the armor. After all, the French would call for an armistice! German forces once again surrounded French and British units east of Calais. However, things turned a bit grim for the Wehrmacht. The French counterattacked in three areas and sacrificed French bombers to pin German armor which could have moved in reserve to support their comrades. German air support, already depleted from the July offensive, could not provide proper reinforcement. For whatever reason, French antiair decided to actually hit on target (perhaps as a last gasp attempt). When all was over, one German infantry block was destroyed providing an escape path for the pocketed French/British troops, French infantry took Bastogne, and the hex west of Bastogne, acting as a supply line for the German forces next to Paris, was almost overrun (1 step of German infantry remained to hold the area). German bombers are down to 5 steps. German fighters are down to 9 steps.

Paris offered the armistice so that Germany would not get the PP for the surrendering French units. It was a hard decision, as the French had 4 steps of armor, 6 steps of artillery, and the 4-step armor leader in the city. Gamelin had vacated to the southwest to watch the events unfold. It would have been a tough battle for the Germans but I believe that they would have taken Paris in August (with 4 steps of armor and 8 steps of artillery and 8 steps of bomber support). Given the losses, though, I don't see how the Germans can pursue an invasion. It may be time to bring Doenitz into the picture.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a very commom situation Greg.

How many BEF units have been eliminated so far?

But: what about rejecting the Armistice and get the full prize (the 4 extra YPP from Southern France may be worthy)?

You could then even try to get Spain on the Axis side and get rid of Gibraltar, having better supply lines through the Med.

Are the Italians in North Africa ready to strike across Tunisia (and get the Mining Center there)?

Then as soon as Rommel arrives, he may help to get the last French units out of Algeria and Morocco, fortifying the Atlantic coast with better German units (No Casablanca Conference) and then turns eastward to seize The Delta as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
I thought about that too - rejecting the armistice. All of the BEF forces are gone (or will be at the end of August) so that is a plus for the Germans. The negative, though, is that the German force has taken some substantial losses and it isn't clear that France could be completely or substantially occupied before October (and the approach of bad weather). The Germans can replace the Luftwaffe by only a limited amount next turn and it would all have to go toward an offensive toward Paris or else get piecemealed out to a number of different attacks in order to try to surround Paris and the French units on the Maginot line. I don't think that there is enough to go around - with only 5 bomber steps at the moment. The initial French deployment of not filling up the Maginot line at the start actually caused the Germans problems in manuevering.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a great news!

With all the 3 not rebuildable BEF units out of the game, the British amphibious capability is dramatically reduced for the remainder of the war.

I would definitively exploit the advantage and go for Gibraltar.

Paris may be put in Capital Supply waiting for its last breath.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
If only you had been on the German General Staff, perhaps you could have convinced them otherwise. The armistice has been accepted, primarily because no one envisioned Britian's incapability of providing amphibious forces four years into the future.

[This is really a test campaign to see how everything plays out. I want to extend this out to 1941/1942 to get a feel on how German production operates up to Barbarossa. The real campaign will start once this one is over!!!]

But...I have a few questions.

1. Is the air factory in St. Nazaire taken over by the Germans or is it destroyed? The rules say on two occasions that it is destroyed but the German Production Overview says otherwise...

2. Concerning the British Radar Chain, do the Germans attack it during the Allied Strategic Warfare Phase or their own? Strategic Warfare is usually done in the opposing player's Strategic Warfare Phase but in this instance I would think that the Germans would get the benefits of the radar chain being temporarily taken down (so that the British could not immediately rebuild it during their Production Phase). When does the bombing of the Radar Chain take place???



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have taken the right decision. It is good to have you on playing this.

1. If I remember well St. Nazaire is destroyed.



2. the Germans usualy start attacking the Radar Chain in June (during the British turn) and during the German turn they attack British Ground Unit.

Getting rid of those lines of Radar Station is nearly impossible against a prepared British player, and a bit of luck may be needed.

However - if I can say my point of view - if you do not really want to knock out the British, it is not that important achieve a Landing, but keeping the British busy in the home Island (so they leave the Italians free to run across toward The Delta).

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
I thought that St. Nazaire did not count but there is one place where it says that it is.


OK. Concerning the radar chains, the Germans can damage them but the British immediately get to repair them before the Germans can take advantage of it. The issue then is whether the British can afford the extra yellow PP to repair them (given that there are other production issues at hand - Air/Naval/Ground)


In hindsight, I should have used Sea Transport to remove one of the British units in June and kept the other two in the Dunkirk pocket to perform the breakout into Calais since they were both supplied in full. Abandoning the Continent in June, however, did not seem like the right thing to do...

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grogers64 wrote:
It would have been a tough battle for the Germans but I believe that they would have taken Paris in August (with 4 steps of armor and 8 steps of artillery and 8 steps of bomber support).



One question here, how can Germany get 8 artillery steps into a battle. Isn't there a one GCU limit per hex/combat?

Oops, a second question - did you plan to send two bombers and no fighters into the battle? I only realized after playing Fall Gelb w/ Emmanuel that two air units of the same type could be in a battle, so that presents lots of options.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ULTIMO wrote:
That's a great news!


I love how excited the designer gets at the prospect of an Axis victory ... It must be a difficult thing to pull off.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Chris,

Artillery is a support unit (GSU) and there can be up to three GSUs in a hex. Two artillery blocks and an armor block is OK to have. Lots of firepower to start everything off with!!!

---------------------

3.10 Stacking

Normally, a maximum of three GU (of which
a maximum two can be GCU) of the same
faction may be stacked in the same hex,
regardless if it is friendly, empty or enemy
occupied. Additionally, no more than one
air unit may use a city as an airbase hex.
Example: 3 HQs/Arts, 2HQs/Arts plus 1
GCU, 1 HQ/Art plus 2 GCUs, but not 3
GCUs!

--------------------------

The French had lost all of their fighter support during the Combat Phase of their previous turn during the attack to clear the Calais pocket. The Germans knew this and thus would have sent in two unescorted bombers. But at Tech Level 2 they are just as good as the German fighters in combat (if a bit more expensive to replace) so they would have held their own...

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Labarque
Belgium
Kortrijk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grogers64 wrote:
Chris,
Artillery is a support unit (GSU) and there can be up to three GSUs in a hex. Two artillery blocks and an armor block is OK to have. Lots of firepower to start everything off with!!!


Indeed, I never even considered this.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Flupperdeflup wrote:
grogers64 wrote:
Chris,
Artillery is a support unit (GSU) and there can be up to three GSUs in a hex. Two artillery blocks and an armor block is OK to have. Lots of firepower to start everything off with!!!


Indeed, I never even considered this.


Do not tell it to Gamelin!

Those 6-strength artillery are nasty... whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ULTIMO wrote:
Flupperdeflup wrote:
grogers64 wrote:
Chris,
Artillery is a support unit (GSU) and there can be up to three GSUs in a hex. Two artillery blocks and an armor block is OK to have. Lots of firepower to start everything off with!!!


Indeed, I never even considered this.


Do not tell it to Gamelin!

Those 6-strength artillery are nasty... whistle


But realistically, the French will have few if any six strength arty except on the Maginot line. Used on attack (as Greg pointed out previously) they need air recon, which France will have little enough of. And since Germans on the attack will be likely to get air recon, and fire first, I foresee very little damage being inflicted by French artillery. Still, it is an interesting thought, giving some PP to the arty in key locations.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fatgreta wrote:
ULTIMO wrote:
Flupperdeflup wrote:
grogers64 wrote:
Chris,
Artillery is a support unit (GSU) and there can be up to three GSUs in a hex. Two artillery blocks and an armor block is OK to have. Lots of firepower to start everything off with!!!


Indeed, I never even considered this.


Do not tell it to Gamelin!

Those 6-strength artillery are nasty... whistle


But realistically, the French will have few if any six strength arty except on the Maginot line. Used on attack (as Greg pointed out previously) they need air recon, which France will have little enough of. And since Germans on the attack will be likely to get air recon, and fire first, I foresee very little damage being inflicted by French artillery. Still, it is an interesting thought, giving some PP to the arty in key locations.


Yes Chris.

Just in case, always good to pin (and maybe eliminate) Vuillelmin.

Then no air recon at all for the French.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.