Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Power Grid» Forums » Rules

Subject: Step 2 starts in current build phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hunga Dunga
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once a player connects his 7th city, can he and subsequent players immediately start connecting to cities already occupied by one other player in that same building phase, or must they wait until the next turn?

Thanks, H.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Peters
Germany
Boeblingen
Baden-Wuerttemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, all players must wait until next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunga Dunga
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Kal.

It's not very clear in the English version of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stargaze wrote:
No, all players must wait until next turn.


iirc it says something like "step 2 begins at the end of the build phase, following the connection of the 7th city". That means all players finish building, and then step 2 starts.. therefore step 2 always starts between the building and admin phases of a turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunga Dunga
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grimwold wrote:
iirc it says something like "step 2 begins at the end of the build phase, following the connection of the 7th city".

Actually it says:

Step 2 starts before phase 5 after the first player has connected his 7th city during phase 4 (Building).

So it's clear phase 2 starts during, not after, phase 4.

The following things happen ONCE between phase 4 (Building) and phase 5 (Bureaucracy): the lowest power plant is removed from the game and replaced by a new one from the draw pile.

This is an action that clearly happens after phase 4.

From now on in step 2, every city can be connected by two players.

"From now on" refers to the last sentence, but if this is one of the "following things happen", it could conceivably happen before phase 4 ends, per the first sentence.

Anyway, I just wanted to make sure I've got it right.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No no, Hunga.

"during" refers to the clause it is in. It means that the first player connects his 7th city during phase 4, not that Step 2 starts during phase 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunga Dunga
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Philip.

I get confused sometimes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't worry.. 2F spiele games are known for their badly worded rules...

Apologies that I remembered it as it should have been written, and not how it actually is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Sullivan
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yeah don't feel bad, Hunga. I have another thread with the same question. Power Grid (awesome game, btw) has the worst written rules I have yet encountered in any board game I've ever played. There were two or three major ambiguities.

Thank goodness for BGG
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.