Hide
6 Posts

Rex: Final Days of an Empire» Forums » General

Subject: Dune vs Rex (maybe vs AGoT) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Schneeberger
msg tools
(I posted this in the Dune forum originally, but I figured I'd ask here as well)

I've recently been building a board game collection, and I was hoping to add an area control/light war/diplomacy game. I currently have Cyclades, but was thinking of something with a bit more player interaction and deal making. To fill this role I've been considering the A Game of Thrones board game and Rex. That is, until I stumbled upon the print and play versions of Dune today.

I'm a much bigger fan of the Dune universe than Twilight Imperium's, and the idea of making a game myself--or at least constructing the components--seems like a fun, if time consuming, project. That said, I'm currently a 3rd year PhD student, and don't necessarily have a huge amount of spare time to spend on extra-curriculars. So, considering all of this leaves me with a number of questions:

Just how much time and money would a print and play copy of Dune take up and cost? Is it worth the extra effort to make a copy of the game just for the Dune theme/differences in rules? Does Fantasy Flight's Rex make any appreciable improvements to the formula, or does their "stream-lining" of the game system work to its detriment? Is Dune/Rex the right game for me in the first place, or might A Game of Thrones be better?
Obviously these are subjective quandaries, but do people here have any thoughts on them?

Things to keep in mind: