GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,522 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Thunderbolt Apache Leader» Forums » General

Subject: Looking for advice after Iraq/Surge failure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing this excellent game. After reading the rules twice and watching many videos (callasmar and FushigiTV), I'm pretty sure I have the rules down.

I selected 2 Apaches and 2 Thunderbolts. I destroyed the 2 easiest battalions on day 1. On day 2, mission 1, I sent in 1 Apache and 1 Thunderbolt against Infantry Force 1A. I armed them with Mk 20's, AGM-65's, LAU-61's, and an ECM. I splurged because I had extra SO's from the Special Condition card. The 28 enemy units were fairly well distributed on the terrain--only 2 hexes empty. Loiter was at 9 from a Scout.

By the end, the Apache had accumulated 13 chits of permanent damage and an Unfit pilot. The Thunderbolt had 7 chits of permanent damage and a Shaken pilot. I felt like I got lucky with many ECM rolls. But with 9 single-point units, just the Thunderbolt, no ordnance (only cannons), and 3 turns left over the enemy (including Bingo-10), there was no way to fully destroy the battalion in time. This meant campaign failure.

Very satisfying loss; I would have been disappointed to win easily--if at all--my first time. But now I'm thinking about what to try next. More, cheaper aircraft so I can bring more ordnance to attack (and get more pilots)? A different combination of ordnance? It seems like Mk 20's are the only way to clean up large battalions with any efficiency, but Apache's can't carry them. Do I need to make sure I have 2 aircraft that can carry them per mission?

Any suggestions?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
StevenE Smooth Sailing...
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb