Recommend
20 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Die Kutschfahrt zur Teufelsburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: FAQ - English/German rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Hi there,

I think this is a good place to post your rules questions.

So please feel free to ask if a rule is unclear cool

Because the game is in English AND German I will answer in both languages.

Here are some questions we have already got:



EQ: The rules say that a player must give away a object-card (of his choice) to another player if his card limit is exceeded. Am I allowed to decline that card if he wants to give it to me?

EA: No, you must take it.

GQ: In den Regeln steht, dass man eine Objektkarte (seiner Wahl) verschenken muss, sobald das eigene Handkartenmaximum überschritten wird. Kann man als Beschenkter diese Karte ablehnen?

GA: Nein, man muss sie annehmen.



EQ: The rules say that a player must give away a object-card (of his choice) to another player if his card limit is exceeded. Am I allowed to give that card to a player that already reached his card limit?

EA: Yes, that's possible, but then he also must immediately give away a card.

GQ: In den Regeln steht, dass man eine Objektkarte (seiner Wahl) verschenken muss, sobald das eigene Handkartenmaximum überschritten wird. Kann man die Karte an jemanden verschenken, der bereits sein Handkartenmaximum erreicht hat?

GA: Ja, aber dieser muss dann auch sofort wieder eine Karte verschenken.



EQ: Do I always win if I use the "Poison Ring" in a struggle or do I win only in stand-off?

EA: You only win in the case of a stand-off (and as printed on the card only if you are either the attacker or the defender).

GQ: Gewinnt man mit dem "Giftring" nur bei einem Patt oder auch grundsätzlich wenn man kämpft?

GA: Nein, man gewinnt nicht grundsätzlich, sondern nur bei einem Patt (und wie auf der Karte steht: Nur wenn man Angreifer oder Verteidiger ist).

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Proclaiming the victory
EQ: If I want to proclaim the victory, do I have to name all players of my association or only the players who own the objects that are necessary for victory?

EA: You only have to name the players who own the 3 objects. You must not name the other players of your association. And keep in mind, that YOU must own at least one of the 3 objects to proclaim the victory.

GQ: Muss ich alle Spieler meiner Gesellschaft benennen, wenn ich den Sieg verkünde oder nur diejenigen, welche die zum Sieg notwendigen Gegenstände besitzen?

GA: Du musst nur diejenigen benennen, die auch welche der 3 notwendigen Gegenstände besitzen. Alle anderen Spieler Deiner Gesellschaft musst Du nicht benennen. Aber beachte, dass Du selbst mindestens einen dieser Gegenstände besitzen musst, wenn Du den Sieg verkünden willst.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zoriak wrote:
You only have to name the players who own the 3 objects.


Good to know! This wasn't clear to me from the rules.

I do have another question to add:

If I win a battle against another player, may I choose to draw the top card of the draw pile (as you would do in a tie), instead of stealing or looking at his identity?

I remember a few times being in the rather awkward position of hoping I wouldn't win so that I may draw a card from the deck.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Award for winning a battle
EQ: If I win a battle against another player, may I choose to draw the top card of the draw pile (as you would do in case of a tie), instead of stealing a object or looking at his occupation/association?

EA: No, only in case of a tie your may draw a card. And keep in mind, that you may not draw a card, if you turn the tie in a win with the "Poisen Ring".

GQ: Wenn ich als Sieger aus einem Kampf hervor gehe, darf ich dann, wie bei einem Patt, auch eine Karte von Stapel ziehen, anstatt meinem Gegner ein Gegenstand zu stehlen oder seine/n Gesellschaft/Beruf anzuschauen?

GA: Nein, nur bei einem Patt darf man eine Karte vom Stapel ziehen. Beachte, dass Du keine Karte ziehen darfst, wenn Du den Patt mit Hilfe des "Giftringes" in einen Sieg verwandelst.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Communication
EQ: How much communication is allowed?
Are you allowed to say whatever you want at any time (truthful or not!)? Are you allowed to make subtle "winks" and "nods" to try to communicate information? Or, should communication be only in card play and actions e.g. supporting someone in a struggle?


EA: Communication should be only in card play and actions.


GQ: Wieviel Kommunikation ist erlaubt?
Darf ich sagen was ich möchte (egal ob wahr oder gelogen)? Darf ich meinem Mitspieler durch nicken oder zwinkern ein Zeichen geben? Oder darf ich ausschließlich durch das Spielen von Karten oder anderen Spielaktionen, wie z.B. der Unterstützung in einem Kampf, meinem Partner ein Zeichen geben?


GA: Man darf ausschließlich durch das Spielen von Karten oder anderen Spielaktionen mit seinen Mitspielern kommunizieren.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Hints for your first coach ride
EQ: Are there any hints you would give to people playing the coach ride the first time?

EA: Yes, here are some hints from the coachman:

• Don't try to memorize everything it is not necessary to win the game.

• At the start of a game do not try doggedly to keep your objects. Instead trade them, also if you think they have a good effect. You will get cards with other good effects.

• Don't decline an object just because it's effect means a benefit for your opponent. In the next trade you will get that objects benefit.

• Both "Secret Bags" are in the game from the beginning, because they bring new object cards into play. Therefore it is necessary to trade them and not try to keep them.

• If you find out that someone is in your association try to let him know, e.g. by supporting him in a struggle or by trading advantageous objects with him.

• Do you have an object at the start of the game that nobody wants to trade? Than attack someone! If you win the struggle you get important information about your opponent, in case of a stand-off you may draw an additional object card and even to lose the struggle is not a disadvantage, because then your opponent may look at your association card and you can guess if he is in your team or not, dependent on his further reactions (e.g. supporting you in a struggle or not).

And finally: You should play a few matches with 4 or more players before you start to play the 3-player version. Also it may help to play with an even number of players in your first match, but that doesn't greatly matter.



GQ: Gibt es einige Tipps für die erste Spielrunde?

GA: Ja, hier ein paar Tipps vom Kutscher:

• Versuche nicht, Dir alles zu merken, es ist nicht notwendig um das Spiel zu gewinnen.

• Tausche zu Beginn auch mal Gegenstände weg, die aus Deiner Sicht gut sind.

• Lehne keinen Gegenstand ab, nur weil er dem Mitspieler beim Eintauschen einen Vorteil gibt, beim nächsten Tausch hast Du diesen Vorteil!

• Die beiden „Geheimen Koffer“ sind von Beginn an im Spiel, weil man durch sie neue Karten bekommt. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass man sie auch wegtauscht und sie nicht für sich behält.

• Erfährst Du von jemandem, dass er in Deiner Gesellschaft ist, gib ihm Hinweise, z.B. indem Du ihm im Kampf beistehst oder ihm im Tausch vorteilhafte Gegenstände gibst.

• Besitzt Du einen Gegenstand, den niemand haben möchte greife an! Gewinnst Du, bekommst Du Informationen über Deine Mitspieler, geht es unentschieden aus, darfst Du eine Karte ziehen und selbst das Verlieren ist gerade zu Beginn einer Partie nicht von Nachteil, denn wenn dadurch jemand Deine Gesellschaft erfährt, kannst Du an seinen anschließenden Reaktionen ablesen, ob er zu Dir gehört oder nicht.

Und abschließend ist zu empfehlen, dass ihr zunächst ein paar Runden mit 4 oder mehr Spielern spielen solltet, bevor ihr euch der 3 Spielervariante widmet. Auch kann es helfen die erste Partie mit einer geraden Spieleranzahl zu spielen, aber das ist kein Muss.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
EQ: If I offer my "Secret Bag" to someone who also has a "Secret Bag" is he allowed to trade with me if he has some other objects?

EA: Yes, he can give you one of his other objects in exchange for your "Secret Bag", but he is not allowed to give you his "Secret Bag" in exchange for it.


GQ: Wenn ich meinen "Geheimen Koffer" einem Mitspieler anbiete, der ebenfalls einen besitzt, darf er dann trotzdem mit mir tauschen, wenn er noch andere Gegenstände besitzt?

GA: Ja, er kann Dir im Tausch für Deinen "Geheimen Koffer" einen seiner anderen Gegenstände geben, man darf nur nicht den "Geheimen Koffer" gegen einen anderen "Geheimen Koffer" tauschen.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zoriak wrote:
EQ: If I want to proclaim the victory, do I have to name all players of my association or only the players who own the objects that are necessary for victory?

EA: You only have to name the players who own the 3 objects. You must not name the other players of your association. And keep in mind, that YOU must own at least one of the 3 objects to proclaim the victory.

GQ: Muss ich alle Spieler meiner Gesellschaft benennen, wenn ich den Sieg verkünde oder nur diejenigen, welche die zum Sieg notwendigen Gegenstände besitzen?

GA: Du musst nur diejenigen benennen, die auch welche der 3 notwendigen Gegenstände besitzen. Alle anderen Spieler Deiner Gesellschaft musst Du nicht benennen. Aber beachte, dass Du selbst mindestens einen dieser Gegenstände besitzen musst, wenn Du den Sieg verkünden willst.




I think this answers the question that arose from our first playing last night.

I declared the victory as I held one key, and I named two other members of my association who held the other two keys.

However ... one of the two people I named had had his key stolen, but - luckily - the other person I named was holding two keys.

The question is: Did we win ?

Going by the quote above, I would say we didn't, because I named a member of my association who did not hold a key - Is that correct ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Moviebuffs wrote:


The question is: Did we win ?

I would say we didn't, because I named a member of my association who did not hold a key - Is that correct ?


Yes, that's correct.

I'm sorry but you loose that game
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Eaton-Salners
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How about this scenario?

You have 1 team object (i.e, the key or goblet depending on your association) and you name 2 other players of your association (A and B). Player A has 1 team object and Player B has 2 team objects. The bag is in play as a team object. Do you win since the players you name each have at least one team object and you have at least 3 total? -OR- Do you lose since you named more players than needed (i.e., you could have just named Player B). The rules say you must name the allies whose objects are necessary for victory. Player A's team object was not strictly necesary (i.e., you have 3 team objects between yourself and Player B).

What about if you have 1 team object and you name Players X, Y, and Z, who each have 1 team object. Do you win? If not, who is the unnecessary player?

Of course, one could argue that you are the unnecessary player in the second scenario since you were silly enough to name 3 other players when you already held 1 of the team objects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mitnachtKAUBO-I wrote:
You have 1 team object (i.e, the key or goblet depending on your association) and you name 2 other players of your association (A and B). Player A has 1 team object and Player B has 2 team objects. The bag is in play as a team object. Do you win since the players you name each have at least one team object and you have at least 3 total?

Yes, your team wins in this case.


mitnachtKAUBO-I wrote:

What about if you have 1 team object and you name Players X, Y, and Z, who each have 1 team object. Do you win? If not, who is the unnecessary player?

Yes, you will win. Normaly you will only name two other players because of the risk that one of the three has no object
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zoriak wrote:
Moviebuffs wrote:


The question is: Did we win ?

I would say we didn't, because I named a member of my association who did not hold a key - Is that correct ?


Yes, that's correct.

I'm sorry but you loose that game



Damn.



PS - Thanks for the reply Lukas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Szukalow
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the use of the 'secret bag' essentially mean that you end up with two objects? ie. one from the person you are trading with and one from the draw pile of objects?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
casterman wrote:
Does the use of the 'secret bag' essentially mean that you end up with two objects? ie. one from the person you are trading with and one from the draw pile of objects?


If you trade the "Secret Bag" you will get one card from your trading partner and one from the draw pile. Keep in mind that you are not allowed to draw a card from the pile if you get the "Broken Mirror" in exchange for the "Secret Bag".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Pohja
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I proclaim victory if I have eg. 3 keys, and not name anyone else in my association?

Or if I'm in an inferior association, and have eg. 2 keys and the Drink of Power?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Wermuth wrote:
Can I proclaim victory if I have eg. 3 keys, and not name anyone else in my association?

Or if I'm in an inferior association, and have eg. 2 keys and the Drink of Power?


Yes, that is possible.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gergely Orsó
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Could you explain the object "black pearl" in detail? If I have it, it prevents just me to proclaim victory for my team or it prevents my team from winning as long as someone from it has the pearl? what about a member of my team trying to proclaim victory when I have the pearl?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Lord Vetinari wrote:
Could you explain the object "black pearl" in detail? If I have it, it prevents just me to proclaim victory for my team or it prevents my team from winning as long as someone from it has the pearl? what about a member of my team trying to proclaim victory when I have the pearl?


If you have the "Black Pearl" you are simply not allowed to proclaim the victory for your team. Your team mate can proclaim the victory and if your team has the needed objects (keys or goblets) you will win although you have the pearl.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Grieshop
United States
Temple Terrace
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Using the Coat

Hi, Lukas!

The rules say - "Trade it in and you may pick a new occupation from those left over and put it face down in front of yourself. Put your old occupation down in the middle. Notice: Using the coat allows you to pick up a card from the pile of the left over occupations. The old occupation is put back on the occupation pile. Occupations that may only be used once in a game are brought back into the game even if they have been used already."

My question is - when you say the old occupation goes "on" the pile does it mean it goes on top? And when you say "pick up a card from the pile" do you have to pick from the top?

I think your intent here is that you want people to have a pile of unused occupations, and when the coat is traded, they can go through the pile and pick the occuption they'd like. But I may be misunderstanding - you may actually want the occupation to be picked randomly. Maybe you mean that when you put the old on on the pile, you shuffle them up (or shuffle before the pick).

So, if I use the coat, can I dump my old occupation and pick from any of the occupations that are in the pile?

As a clarification, it looks like you want us to pick from the pile first, and then throw our old one away - so we can't use the coat to recycle a "once only" occupation. We can't, for instance, use the coat to return our "Doctor" card and draw it again. We pick first, and then discard.

Can you confirm that I have this right?

Thanks for a most excellent game!

Russell
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Grieshop
United States
Temple Terrace
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Early Attacks - when to get involved?

Lukas;

One more question (we're playing this a lot and I'd like to make sure we're thinking about it right).

I find the early attacks to be a bit frustrating - people tend to pile on pretty quickly before they know what's going on or who is who. I find myself wanting to abstain from supporting early attacks, until I have a better idea what's up and who's who.

Many times I've seen it happen that early attacks fail, because others get involved, and I'm not sure what their motivation would be to get involved before they know anything about the roles involved. Later in the game alliances are more clear, and there are lots of ways to send information - but in the first few attacks it seems less obvious.

So, for instance, when someone makes the first attack, unless I already know something about the roles of the players, I'll tend to abstain - but if I've gotten a clue about one of the players, I will get involved.

If I'm in the Order and I get passed a Goblet by a player, that suggest to me that they are NOT in the Brotherhood, and working with that theory, I'll assume they are my ally, and may help them to get information.

Or, if I've seen someone's role, and they are not on my team, I might be inclined to oppose them in most cases, so that the other team doesn't get too much information.

But it feels to me like people sort of just vote to support one party or the other, without much information, and it feels to me like that causes the early turns to stagnate a bit. Of course, if nobody wins, the attacker gets another item - so that might guide us - but we usually want the items to be revealed pretty quickly, so no reason to oppose that. There is good reason to actually help make attacks end in a stalemate, so more items are flowing around.

What is your feeling about this?

How do you see early attacks happening?

Thanks!

Russell
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Werebear wrote:

As a clarification, it looks like you want us to pick from the pile first, and then throw our old one away - so we can't use the coat to recycle a "once only" occupation. We can't, for instance, use the coat to return our "Doctor" card and draw it again. We pick first, and then discard.

Can you confirm that I have this right?


Hi Russell,

you are absolutely right.

First search the pile for a new occupation, then put it face down in front of you and then put your old one in the pile. It doesn't matter if you put it on top of it or not, because the next player searches the whole pile again ...

Thanks for the compliment!

Lukas
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Russell,

I posted my reply in a new thread because it is not a real FAQ-Question I think:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1423949#1423949

CU in the other thread

Lukas
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Zach
Germany
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Current FAQ - English/German
Dear Coachriders,

I will not continue with the FAQ in this thread, because an active version of the FAQ can be found on the official website:

ENGLISH: http://www.ludocreatix.com/kutschfahrt/3faq_en.html

GERMAN: http://www.ludocreatix.com/kutschfahrt/3faq.html

If you have more Questions please send them to info@ludocreatix.com

We will reply as soon as possible and add your question to the FAQ.

Cheers!

Lukas
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.