Recommend
13 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Conquest of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: CotE2 Revised FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Iain Cheyne
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I have gone through all the threads here and at the Eagle Games website and have put together a revised unofficial FAQ. I hope the Eagle guys review it and put their seal of approval on it, but in the meantime this should help a lot of people.

http://cheyne.net/blog/conquest-of-the-empire-ii-faq/

If you see any mistakes or omissions, let me know and I will fix it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan A.
United States
Everett
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks good. Now we need a Geek to put it into a pdf with pretty CotE 2 artwork.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I volunteer. OK with you Iain?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan A.
United States
Everett
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UniversalHead wrote:
I volunteer. OK with you Iain?

Please say yes. Please say yes. Please say yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain Cheyne
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Of course, but I'll kept my FAQ in html, so I can change it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Simons
United Kingdom
Royal Wootton Bassett
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Iain; when I eventually get this back to the table this will help a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Overton
United States
North Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
crusader4x wrote:
Looks good. Now we need a Geek to put it into a pdf with pretty CotE 2 artwork.

I prefer the FAQ the way it is. Much easier to edit and print.

Thanks Iain for all the work on the FAQ!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain Cheyne
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
My pleasure.

Incidentally, I clarified one point:

Q: Can you retreat across straits (arrows) if there is an enemy galley in the sea zone?
A: Leaders (generals/caesars) can always retreat across straits, even if the sea space is occupied by enemy galleys. Troops can also retreat across straits, but not if there is an enemy galley.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain Cheyne
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Eagle have approved it, so it's official.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Overton
United States
North Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
icheyne wrote:
Eagle have approved it, so it's official.



Excellent thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Molnar
Denmark
København SV
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have some questions on the unofficial faq rules:
Quote:
Q: Can you buy influence in more than one province in a single action?
A: No. When you buy influence you can only do it in one province per action. Having more leaders in that province makes no difference.

After some game experience, I have experienced that a player who gains advantage mid-game is very difficult to stop - even if the player is betrayed by his/her alliance. It may be easier if influence could be bought in multiple provinces in a single action. Has anybody tried this?

Quote:
Q: Can Caesars be killed?
A: Only if they are defeated and trapped on an island with nowhere to retreat to.
Q: Can you retreat across straits (arrows) if there is an enemy galley in the sea zone?

A: Leaders (generals/caesars) can always retreat across straits, even if the sea space is occupied by enemy galleys. Troops can also retreat across straits, but not if there is an enemy galley.

These two are incompatible. We have decided to follow the latter, thus generals and ceasars cannot be killed in our interpretation.

Quote:

Q: What happens if we run out of influence tokens or money? Are these deliberately limited?
A: They are unlimited. Use some other tokens as a temporary substitute.

Q: In the final campaign season of a six player game there are not enough province markers to go around – six short in fact. What do we do?
A: Put out fewer province tokens.

These two may also be understood to be incompatible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Kuhn

Indianapolis
Indiana
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Caesars can be killed if they are placed on an island without any straits.
There is no reason to place a Caesar on such an island,
but it could be done.

Influence tokens and money are unlimited;
Province tokens are not.

Hope this helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain Cheyne
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Thanks Ted

I clarified the FAQ.

Quote:
Q: Can Caesars be killed?
A: Only if they are defeated and trapped on an island without any straits.
Q: In the final campaign season of a six player game there are not enough province markers to go around - six short in fact. What do we do?
A: Put out fewer province tokens. This is an intentional limit.


http://cheyne.net/blog/conquest-of-the-empire-ii-faq/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.