GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,308 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dominion: Adventures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Traveling Fair + Bridge Troll = Unlimited Buys? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Cook
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Events in play were Traveling Fair and Inheritance, the Supply included Bridge Troll and Page. A Bridge Troll was played last turn, another is played this turn--cumulative -2 to the cost of all cards. Does this essentially turn Traveling Fair into unlimited buys, since it costs 0 now? It ended up not mattering, as the last Province was bought on the same turn. However, with Champion (all action cards gain +1 Action) and Inheritance on a Bridge Troll, it could have led to the entire pile of Estates bought initially (since all were free), 5 being played the next turn (cumulative -6 cost with the 1 still left, all Duchy's being bought but added to the discard, since Traveling Fair's ability to place them on the deck is optional), and another 5 Estates-as-Bridge-Trolls being played the next turn, -10 to all costs and the Provinces are gone. Am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Seifert
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Events are not cards, so their price cannot be reduced.
17 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mb
golden_cow2 wrote:
Events are not cards, so their price cannot be reduced.

Yep. Events (while cards physically) are not considered cards for any gameplay purposes; any text referring to a card's cost, buying a card, gaining a card, etc., does not have any bearing on Events.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.