GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,872 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Stones of Fate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interpretation of "The Bastion"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Taed Wynnell
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"The Bastion: If this card is in your collection, you may not receive cards from other players. (By them giving, you taking, or trading.)"

The question is with "you may not receive", and whether the "not" is modifying the "may" or the "receive".

The first interpretation is as "you may (not receive)" meaning "you may choose to not receive," which would allow you to accept or reject cards as you wish.

The second interpretation is "you (may not) receive" meaning "you will not receive," which prevents all card transfers whether you want them or not.

Basically, if you have this card and you have the opportunity to get or take a good card (positive points), can you?

We went with the second interpretation. Opinions?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Laurie
United States
Santa Maria
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "not" modifies the receive. You are correct in your interpretation. Perhaps "cannot" might have been clearer?

So you cannot receive a card from another player, even if you want to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Cornelius
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card prevents you from receiving any cards (whether positive or negative) from another person. So it somewhat protects you but also comes at the cost of not being able to trade your Ace to another person for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.