Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Canvas Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Regaining maximum altitude rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Clément Boucher
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,
Regarding the maximum altitude:
Quote:
...Such aircraft can begin at their maximum altitude level, but once they have descended from this level, they cannot they may not regain them.


Does this applies only for the maximum altitude level?
If not, it would invalidate all the Flight Tolerance Code "C" and "C1" in combat. Furthermore, all the aircraft would slowly but surely loose altitude during the entire fight.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claude Stone
United States
New Paltz
New York
flag msg tools
mb
Yes that is correct, the aircraft may not regain maximum altitude. All other altitudes may be regained.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clément Boucher
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clément, do keep in mind that planes with a + next to their Maximum Altitude number can regain that altitude. The + indicates a more powerful engine which can reach close to the top of it's maximum altitude "band".

As you know, each altitude level represents a "band" of 800' (Early War) to 1200' (Late War). So, at altitude 1 you would be at about 800' (Early War), while at altitude 2 you would be at 1600', etc.

The reason most planes may not regain their maximum altitude is that their historical maximum altitude rating barely brings them into the altitude band. As you probably know, it gets more difficult to climb the closer you get to your maximum altitude, and in game term it would require more than one turn to make it back up there. For simplicity's sake, it was decided (or so it seems) to prohibit it during the game.

At the start of the game, it is assumed that the planes had enough time to climb to their maximum altitude.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.