Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Tyler
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I know the answer to this question but just to be sure here goes.

I am just learning the game and prefer to play by the World Crokinole rules found here http://www.worldcrokinole.com/

Quote:
if during the contestant's shot an opposing disc is NOT struck, either directly or indirectly, the shooting disc is removed from the board. IN ADDITION TO THIS, ALL OTHER DISCS OF THE SHOOTING CONTESTANT WHICH HAVE BEEN TOUCHED IN ATTEMPT TO REMOVE AN OPPOSING DISC, ARE ALSO REMOVED FROM THE BOARD.

So the above rule says if there are opposing disks on the board and I fail to make a legal shot, I must remove my disk and any of my disks contacted.

Quote:
If there are no opposing discs on the board, a contestant may shoot for the centre hole. The shooting disc must remain in the 15 circle or at least touching the 15 circle line. This stipulation forces the play to the centre of the board and removes the potential of hiding such shots in protected areas (such as behind pegs). Failure to satisfy this stipulation will result in the disc being removed from play.

So the above rule says if there are NO opposing disks on the board and I fail to make a legal shot, I remove ONLY my shooting disk and NOT any of my own disks that were contacted. Well, at least that is how I interpret the rules.

So am I correct in thinking that you never remove more that just your shooting disk if you fail to land in the 15 point zone on a free shot?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Reed
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: What if free shot misses and contacts some of your disks
You are correct in your understanding of the rules (as least as I understand them...).

1) If your opponent has a disc on the board, you must strike it for your shot to count.
2) If you hit one (or more) of your own discs and also hit one of your opponent's discs, nothing is removed.