Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Axis & Allies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Transporter question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon van Pagée
Netherlands
Delft
flag msg tools
Is it possible to load up an transporter with an infrantry and a tank in the combat move and then fight with the tank because an infrantry cant get on the transporter and land at the same time. So the infrantry doesnt fight and still does an combat move?

Cheers

Hippie
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uffe
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Both the infantry and the tank should be able to be a part of an amphibous assault. Loading and offloading can be one move even for units that only have one move.

If you want to keep the infrantry in the transport anyway I would say that it's okay since it doesn't change anything dramatically. If you're going straight by the rulebook then it might be interpreted as an illegal move however.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Cappel
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the 2004 Revised Edition rules, there is no specification that if you unload one unit from a transport as part of an amphibious assault, that you must unload both units. (if the transport happens to be carrying two.) There is in fact a clarification in the game's FAQ on the Wizards Of The Coast websote:

Quote:
From the Wizards/Avalon Hill Axis & Allies Revised FAQ:
Must I offload all the units from a transport?
No. Units may stay on board when other units offload. For example, one unit may offload during an amphibious assault, while another may offload into the same territory during the noncombat move.


However, the Larry Harris Tournament rules state that if a transport is unloading units into the land portion of an amphibious assault, all units onboard that loaded as part of this Combat Move must unload and participate in the combat. Any units that were onboard the transport prior to the Combat Move phase (from a previous turn, in other words) may be selected to remain onboard the transport.


Quote:
From LHTR v1.3
Amphibious Assaults: A transport may begin or
take part in an amphibious assault by
offloading at least one of its cargo units
into a hostile territory during the combat
move phase. If it does so, it must offload all
units that have been loaded during this combat
move phase, and it may offload any number of
units owned by the transport's power that
already were on board at turn start. If enemy
sea units are present in the sea zone in which
the transport is to offload, a sea combat must
be fought first. If the transport survives
that combat, then after all defending sea
units are destroyed (or submerged), it may
offload into the hostile territory.


It's an interesting question... I think that the LHTR version is best, because any unit that moves during the Combat Move must do so with the intention of being involved in a Combat. In this case, it is the unit being loaded onto the Transport that is the initiation of its Combat Move. It has committed to combat. Loading onto a Transport during the Combat Move phase seems to count as only half of the unit's Combat Move, and the second half must be carried out as planned, ie the "assault" part of the Amphibious Assault. Any unit already onboard the transport has technically not moved in the Combat Move phase, even if the Transport does .

You do seem to be a bit confused about the Infantry's ability to load/unload though. Infantry (ditto Armor and Artillery) IS allowed to load, travel on a transport, and unload into an Amphibious Assault Combat on the same turn.

~Josh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.