Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Nexus Ops» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Cards Double-edged? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Szilagyi
United States
Parma
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of the Energize cards that can be played during a Battle, many are clearly one-sided. That is to say ONLY the person using them gets (or assigns, if it's not your fight) the benefit. BATTLE STIMULANT is one of these cards, as it's clearly applied only to one roll.

One other Battle card: GRAVITY ANOMALY is clearly applied to both sides of the battle, as it refers to the battle as a whole.

I have questions on three: (Are these Battle cards applied to both sides of a battle?)

CRYSTALLINE REGENERATION and FUNGOID REGENERATION

Both of these cards refer to "their owners' home-base" hexes. However, only the position of the apostrophe indicates multiple owners. Is that enough?

Also, FRENZY. Frenzy simply mentions each unit. Taken at face value, that would mean 'all' units, thus both sides... but obviously, the person playing the card would prefer that it only applied to THEIR units, since they played the card.

What say you?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I treat those cards as applying to both sides. That's actually a little more interesting anyway, as it's harder to arrange a battle where you benefit more than the other player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brady
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play that those cards apply to both sides...the ones that only apply to your side only are pretty clearly worded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blue Jackal
United States
Nowhere
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, when we first saw Frenzy (well, it was a battle between two other players, so I didn't get to read it), we thought it might be too broken for even a light game like Nexus Ops. Then we realized it applied to both sides.

When we saw Fungoid regeneration, we figured it was also applied to each side.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Johnston
United States
Marietta
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think those cards would be far too powerful if they were one sided, thus our group agreed them to apply to both sides. Though with the right planning I've found frenzy can still be a powerful card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frenzy is a great card to play if your higher ranked units are out numbered by lower ranked units, say 1 dragon and 1 leaper attacked by 4 rock striders. In this case, you can play frenzy and then get FOUR roles instead of two. You'd surely wipe out the striders before they'd even get to fight, whereas without the card, there's a 50/50 chance they kill both your dragon and leaper.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
out4blood wrote:
Frenzy is a great card to play if your higher ranked units are out numbered by lower ranked units, say 1 dragon and 1 leaper attacked by 4 rock striders. In this case, you can play frenzy and then get FOUR roles instead of two. You'd surely wipe out the striders before they'd even get to fight, whereas without the card, there's a 50/50 chance they kill both your dragon and leaper.


Actually, the chance they kill both the dragon and leaper is only 107/288 = 37%.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fedor Marshankin
Russia
Moscow
Moscow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
out4blood wrote:
Frenzy is a great card to play if your higher ranked units are out numbered by lower ranked units, say 1 dragon and 1 leaper attacked by 4 rock striders. In this case, you can play frenzy and then get FOUR roles instead of two. You'd surely wipe out the striders before they'd even get to fight, whereas without the card, there's a 50/50 chance they kill both your dragon and leaper.


Actually, the chance they kill both the dragon and leaper is only 107/288 = 37%.

Hm...
You actually took the time to count the odds?
Nice!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.