Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

2038: Tycoons of the Asteroid Belt» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2038 - Bases? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules [+] [View All]
Kevin Schmidt
United States
Saint Marys
Ohio
flag msg tools
We had one of our standard gaming quarrels the other night.

In the "railroad" game 2038, each Company is limited to a set number of bases (or station markers if you're back in the 1800's). One example is the Mars Mining Company with a limit of three bases.

I thought this three base limit would be (one) the home base and two other outpost bases (ala 1830). The other view was that the home base was indicated on the mapboard and what not require the use of one of the three chits and therefore we could then deduce that there are three available outposts in addition to the home base.

Any consensus or clarification for future play?

Thanks, Kevin
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Huber

Westborough
Massachusetts
msg tools
kschmidt wrote:
We had one of our standard gaming quarrels the other night.

In the "railroad" game 2038, each Company is limited to a set number of bases (or station markers if you're back in the 1800's). One example is the Mars Mining Company with a limit of three bases.

I thought this three base limit would be (one) the home base and two other outpost bases (ala 1830). The other view was that the home base was indicated on the mapboard and what not require the use of one of the three chits and therefore we could then deduce that there are three available outposts in addition to the home base.

Any consensus or clarification for future play?


The other view was correct - the home base does not count against the limit that can be built. No token needs be placed on the home base, _except_ for the Asteroid League.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Joe is correct. With the exception of the Asteroid League, Corporation home bases are preprinted on the map. The counters are used when buying additional bases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.