Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reinforcing via same border that attacker used? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Iain McFadyen
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Move along
badge
Nothing to see here
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

We came across a situation as follows:
All of the Scots blocks in Fife attack into Angus
Can the English blocks in Mentieth attack through Fife into Angus as Reserves? In other words, can Reserves use the same border to enter the battle as the Attackers used?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and the border becomes unavailable for retreats by the Scottish - see (5.5): only the second player to pass a border into battle may use it for retreats.

In HotS, having units in areas next to a battle can be as important as having them in the battle. E.g., in your situation. the Scots could have left a single unit behind in Fife to prevent English reinforcements. All the English player could do in this case was to attack Fife and and hope to cut off the retreat back there. Even that is not a sure thing if the skirmish in Fife is resolved first and the Scots win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.