Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Grain Sales rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
USSR plays Grain Sales as an op card.
US draws a card and chooses to use it.

Whose turn is it to play a card?

Does the drawn card count as the US card play, so it's USSR turn? or is it now US's turn to play a card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is now the US action round. The play of the card draw as a result of Grain Sales is part of the event that takes place in the USSR action round in this case.

If the US plays Grain Sales, he draws and plays (or not) during that action round. Then it would be the USSR's action found, if that had not been the last round of a turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The US player draws and uses a card as part of the event, which is triggered by USSR play of Grain Sales, so now it's the US player's turn, i.e., the US player effectively gets to play twice in succession.

However, the USSR player can opt to use his Ops points before the Grain Sales event is resolved, so the sequence goes: USSR plays Grain Sales, uses 2 Ops for whatever, then US draws a card from USSR hand and uses it (or returns it and uses 2 Ops himself).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that's what we thought, but confirmation is nice!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Imago wrote:
However, the USSR player can opt to use his Ops points before the Grain Sales event is resolved, so the sequence goes: USSR plays Grain Sales, uses 2 Ops for whatever, then US draws a card from USSR hand and uses it (or returns it and uses 2 Ops himself).


Sorry, I meant to say, "The USSR player can opt to use his Ops points after the Grain Sales event is resolved, so the sequence goes: USSR plays Grain Sales, US draws a card from USSR hand and uses it (or returns it and uses 2 Ops himself), then the USSR player uses 2 Ops from Grain Sales for whatever." I must've had too much caffeine and typed too quickly or something...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.