Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Munchkin» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why play "usable once item- cards" to table? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andreas W
Sweden
Årsta
flag msg tools
Hi

Is there any reason why you would want to play these cards to the table before using them? The rules clearly says you can play them from your hand anyway.

Andy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Birzer
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So that you can get them out of your hand, since there is a hand limit.

For most of them, it is preferable to keep them in your hand so that your opponents won't know what you have in reserve, but sometimes, you have no choice.

Jason
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas W
Sweden
Årsta
flag msg tools
okay thanks!

I also came up with another reason i think? You can only trade and bribe with stuff on the table right?

Edit:
(But you bribe when its your turn anyway so it doesnt matter does it?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hawks
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can only trade items that you are "carrying" (that are on the table.)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Senor EvilMonkey
United Kingdom
Canterbury
Kent
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Not only does playing a 1 shot item to the table free up hand space, it also has the added benefit of acting as a deterent. If kept in your hand you can only use the benefit once, be it +5 to either side or whatever, but once it's on the table it acts pretty much like a permanent item because the other players will factor that bonus into their calculations. (And people will often simply not bother sending that wandering monster over or whatever because they assume you'd use your 1 shot item...)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grey Warden
Australia
flag msg tools
And don't forget that playing items - especially one-shots - to the table means that you don't have to give them to charity because you have exceeded your hand limit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.