Questions from today's game (about halfway done so far - stalemate at Tobruk through turn 10)
1) This one is probably easy: Axis play "Code Broken" to pull a red Axis Play Immediately card from the discard play. Assume that this counts as "drawing a card" and Axis play immediately activating the cards effect. Correct?
But do not forget rule 5.0.2:
[5.0.2] Once is Enough: The exact same-named Event cannot occur twice during a single Player Turn (this does not apply to Alternate Events).
So if that card "black-texted" effect already took place during the German Turn, it might have to be played "without effect".
2) Allied combat phase, Axis stack with CB marker on it. Axis forces DR on an adjacent Allied stack and then does an AAC next to another Allied stack. Does the CB marker come off after the combat roll, or does it remain on the Axis stack until end of the Allied combat phase to trigger another Allied attack (since it AAC'ed next to a different Allied stack)? [this could be an interesting card event - to allow the CB marker to remain on until the end of the current combat phase and it triggers follow on CB rolls]
It does not remain with the unit and is removed after the die roll.
3) Probably easy as well: Playing alternate event option on the cards. Can the minefield event be played before turn 6? I assume not, but just checking
No it cannot. But a case could be made that it can, because of rule 5.3.2:
[5.3.2] Event Precedence: If there is a conflict between the Event text and these rules, the Event text takes precedence.
Yet, in this case I say that rule 5.3.2 does not applies, as it's not an event TEXT (written on the card) but an alternate event ICON. If you had it written on the card, it would be another matter entirely.
4) A bit deeper here: Allied combat phase and Allies attacking due to Axis CB marker. Allies roll a CA and the Axis oblige, obtaining a "CB" result on the Axis CA roll. Do the Axis place a CB marker on their stack since they were the counter-attacker, or do the Allies place the CB marker since it was their combat phase? The CRT says the phasing attacker places the CB marker. IE, does the phasing player place ALL CB marker regardless of how the CB result was generated? Is this a mandatory placement? I know it is limited by having a free marker to place, but could they chose not to place a CB marker even if they have a spare marker?
- The Phasing player ALWAYS places the CB marker.
- It is ALWAYS placed on the phasing's units.
- It is a MANDATORY placement.
So the Allied player place it on on of his stacks.