Subject: Gift ideas for myself... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: recommendations [+] christmas [+] [View All]
Calvin Bulthuis
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
I am new to the hobby and only have a few games. My favorite game is probably Traders of Genoa and my game group has played countless games of settlers. I bought Caylus a while back, but it was too deep for some of the people in the group. Any suggestions for games I should ask for Christmas? I have been considering Ticket to Ride Europe because I have heard it is more complex than the original, but is it still a good gateway game for those unfamiliar with European map? Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james napoli
United States
Westwood
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
nobody doesnt like puerto rico.

as for ticket 2 ride, Marklin is supposedly the gamers edition, on that same front, maybe thurn & taxis instead if u only have 4 regulars. it's always a good idea to look for games that will fit the size of ur normal group.

samurai is a good game that is simple to play, but is really a true gameres game.

also, maybe an auction game, those tend 2 keep everyone's attention. modern art is my personal favorite, but there are nay sayers, so maybe something like Ra might be a little more approachable to the everyman.

at the end of the day, going through the top 15-20 games on the geek, it's hard to go wrong.

some great fillers and ligher games are for sale, Bohnanz and Bang! are easy to grasp, and typically quick to play.

welcome aboard and enjoy!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McF
United States
Missoula
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
darlok wrote:

Further proof that I'm just nobody.