R W
Canada
flag msg tools
Hi, everyone! I'm relatively new to boardgaming as a hobby, but I learn real quick. What I'm actually looking for right now is a Christmas gift for my cousin: a male around twenty years of age. Any recommendations would be much appreciated! Some notes & requirements:

- He's not really into gaming, but loves Risk and classic card games (e.g. Rummy).
- He's a fan of World War II in particular, so something with that as a theme would be great (but is in no way required).
- I need something that plays great with 2 players, but expands well to 3 or 4 (or more).
- Moderate game length is best. 45-90 minutes (or less) is fine, but 2+ hour war games are out of the question.
- Only looking to spend $15-25. Doesn't need to be complex--doesn't even need to be a board game. Card game recommedations are great, also. But he loves strategy, so I want to get him something with depth.

Are there any decent WWII card games widely available, by the way? Just thought I'd ask.

Thanks so much!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
フィル
Australia
Ashfield
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I've got an 808 and a 303 and a record collection like the ABC
mbmbmbmbmb
Try Lightning: North Africa. It's a WWII card game that costs US$20 or so and plays in about 30-35 minutes. It's only for 2 players, but otherwise it's ticking all your boxes.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Wankel engine
mbmbmbmbmb
These meet your requirements except they're not about WWII:

Samurai
San Juan
Carcassonne
Through the Desert
St. Petersburg

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
eryn roston
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd give Tigris and Euphrates a look-see.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillip Heaton
United States
Springfield
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sbszine wrote: