I have a rule question that has to do with running out of tokens while playing the top part of an action card.
Suppose the player is playing an action card that requires him to place two tokens on a region track, but he has only one token left after paying the cost of the action card. Is the player:
a. allowed to place his last token on the region track;
b. not allowed to place his last token on the region track under any circumstances; or
c. not allowed to place his last token on the region track, unless doing so causes an older token of his to be removed from the track and returned to him, so that he can then immediately play it as the second required token?
Here's the relevant passage from the rulebook:
If you play an action card, you have to follow the instructions fully. You may not skip any part. Example: If a card allows a player to move wagons and place tokens, he has to do both. Exception: If a player does not have any tokens left, he may skip that part.
It is not allowed to incompletely fulfil a part of one of the card’s actions. Example: A card allows the movement of 2 wagons. The player may not move only one wagon.
A strict interpretation of the rules seems to indicate that the answer is c. Although the player is generally not allowed to incompletely execute the card's actions, this is overridden by the stated exception. However, the exception allows the player to skip “that part” of the card — that is, the entire part, not just a portion of it. Or at least, that's how it reads to me.
This seems unnecessarily harsh, and possibly not intended by the game designer. I think a more reasonable answer to the question would be a.