Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mission: Red Planet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Same character played as first player-what order played? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Bernard
United States
Fairview
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Although the rules are generally very clear, I have come up with one ambiguity. The rules state:

"If two or more players have played the same character, they take turns clockwise, starting from the player who has the First Player token."

Taking this literally, the first few times we played if someone tied with the First Player, the First Player went last. Then someone raised an obvious question: "Why call him the First Player if he doesn't go first?" So now we started playing that the First Player goes first if tied.

I don't know if it makes much difference as long as its consistent. With some characters you are definitely better off going first (i.e., Travel Agent); with others going last is best (i.e., Explorer).

So my question is does from really mean with as we are now playing, or does it mean from as in starting with the player to the left of the First Player?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cardarelli
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bbernard wrote:
So now we started playing that the First Player goes first if tied.


This is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Bernard
United States
Fairview
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the quick reply, Smee.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cardarelli
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are welcome, Bruce.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom "Snicker Daddy" Pancoast
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way we have been playing it as well (first player goes first).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno faidutti
France
PARIS
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
tpancoast wrote:
That's the way we have been playing it as well (first player goes first).


And that's how it's meant to be played ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.