Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Allowed to use the half-hexes at edge of board? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob White
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey,

Sorry if this has already been asked. Are units allowed to use the half-hexes at the edge of the game board?

Thanks,
Rob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules specifically state that half hexes CAN be used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Lloyd
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
Canadian Game Design Award: http://www.fallcon.com/design
badge
Canadian Game Design Award: http://www.fallcon.com/design
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I concur. You can use halfhexes, but I could'nt actually find it in the rules. I don't know where I read it.

Peace
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark coomey
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good Question! Up until this time I've always played that you cannot move onto those hexes. Which I thought made perfect sense as many scenarios start unbalanced (say more tanks on the other side), but those pieces are often wedged into the bottom corner of the board. Meaning you'll have to do some maneuvering to get those pieces out!
However, if you consider using the half hexes, suddenly life is much easier!

I think I vote DO NOT use!

wiz
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Morris
United States
Raytown
Missouri
flag msg tools
2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, 19th Indiana, 24th Michigan
badge
24th Michigan Monument Gettysburg Pa
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. They can not be moved into and they block line of sight.

GreenBear wrote:
Actually, I beleive not only can they not move into those half hexes but I'm pretty sure they block line of sight as well.

I'll have a look through the FAQs
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.