In a review of Lords of Scotland, it was explained that when you Recruit a face up card, you replace it with a face up card from your hand. But the rulebook in the new printing does not state that. It is not explicitly stated, in a single connected sentence, but it is implied pretty strongly that the replacement recruit comes from the draw pile, regardless of it's face up or down status. Is this a change in the new edition, or an error?
I fell foul of that one on my first playthrough too. I had been misled in the same way!