Popular Tags: [View All]
David Reed
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Note: this is my first attempt at a session report, built on my National Games Week session report - I would be very interested to hear what people think of it.

One of the gems of the Kosmos 2 player game, Rüdiger Dorn's Jambo is a game that my friend Zac and I have played several times since I bought it this summer. The English language edition is published by Rio Grande Games and it is in the standard Kosmos two player game box.

As I said above, Jambo is a game that Zac and I have played a few times before, and it has reached the point of being a favorite. The theme is commerce, but there are a lot of card interactions that almost have the feel of those in a CCG.

Jambo is a trading game. Each player has a market stand, and they are trying to buy the six commodities and sell them in a way to make enough profit to reach sixty pieces of gold (each player starts with twenty). Along the way, there are utilities, persons and animals that can change the hands, goods or interfere with the other player. A core aspect of the game are the five action points each player has during their turn. There is a draw phase, where a player can draw once per action point spent (but can only keep the last card drawn) and a play phase where the cards are played from the player's hand. Goods cards can be used in two ways - they allow goods to be bought for the price on the left-hand side or sold for the price on the right-hand side. If a player uses three or fewer actions, they get a gold piece for free.