Here's the scenario
You draw the event card "Cold Rain" so you put the green "?" on the explore pile and add a rain cloud to the Weather Space and then put the card on the right most space on the event cards location on the board.
Assuming I got the above part correct (let me know if I don't):
1) If I do the "threat action", in this case worker with shovel", are either the rain cloud or green "?" removed immediately? Or must they stay for the remainder of that round? I have been playing as if they stay.
2) Assume I do not do the "threat action" for "Cold Rain" and then, during the event phase for the next round, get a new event card and move "Cold Rain" over to the second, left spot on the event part of the board. During this new round do I keep the green "?" on the explore pile and again put the rain cloud in the weather space, effectively keeping "Cold Rain" triggered for a second round? I have been playing this way because it incentivizes doing the "threat action" the first time around, but I don't know if that's right.
Thanks in advance!
I don't have the event card in front of me, but:
1) They stay for the remainder of that round. Doing the "threat action" (usually) just removes the card, not its effect (unless that's noted as a reward).
2) You keep the green "?" until your next "explore action", where it is resolved. If you did that in the round before, no new "?" is added. Also, "Cold Rain" doesn't get triggered again in the second round. The only thing that will be triggered is the effect at the bottom of the card if you haven't resolved the "threat action" by the beginning of the third round (or whenever it gets pushed off the board).
- Last edited Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:33 pm (Total Number of Edits: 2)
- Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 3:30 pm
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
A slight add-on, here.
Tokens placed by an Event card (or, in fact, any card) stay on the board until they are triggered, UNLESS the card text states otherwise.
So, regarding your Event card (don't have it in front of me, so I take it you read it right):
- you place the Rain token on the Weather space - it WILL trigger during the next Weather phase, and will the be removed.
- you place the green "?" token on top of the Exploration Adventure Card pile - it WILL trigger the next time you take an Exploration action!
It is important to note that the green "?" remains on the pile UNTIL it is triggered. It could stay there for several rounds.
Now, the top half of the card is finished - you NEVER go back to it again!
Then you place it onto the right space of the Treat Action Track.
On the Threat Action Track you can use an Action (using 1/2 pawns and items or ressources as required, i.e. stated there) to perform the Action mentioned in the MIDDLE SECTION of the card. You ONLY do what the middle section of the card says. Ressources are lost, items or levels in weapons etc. you just need to HAVE (you don't spend them).
This Threat Action will get rid of the card, i.e. you discard it from the Threat Action Track!
Now, if another card is put on the right space of the Threat Action Track, and there already is an Event card, this card gets pushed to the left. NOTHING ELSE HAPPENS...
...unless an Event Card is pushed OFF the Threat Action Track. Then, the bottom-most part of the card that was pushed off is triggered, and ONLY this part. Then the card is discarded.
This way, if you get rid of cards in the right space of the Threat Action Track, a card that is on the left space of the Track could stay there for several rounds, with nothing happening.
I hope this helps.
Although this is already explained en detail in the rulebook, of course...
- Last edited Thu Jun 4, 2015 9:04 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Thu Jun 4, 2015 9:04 pm
Thanks a lot guys! I know that the event cards are explained pretty well in the rule book on several different pages, I was just still confused about what not to do...as if rule books should explain negatives. But I won once today after knowing the right rules! Then I got cocky and played again and got beat down. Thanks, again!
Then I got cocky and played again and got beat down.
Why I love boardgames.
- Last edited Fri Jun 5, 2015 10:32 am (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Fri Jun 5, 2015 10:32 am