Subject: Thoughts on Strategy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antti Tarvainen
Finland
Tampere
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Here are some of my thoughts on strategy of Traders of Genoa. I have only played five games so far (3-5 player games), so I am by no means an expert. However, I won four of those games and came close to winning the fifth, so I hope I have understood at least something about the game.

We have a couple of house rules that might differ from what others are using. Firstly, placing the tower on the center square with Any Start Place doesn't shorten the game. This is because we thought that the ability to decide when the game ends would give too much of an advantage to the last player. Secondly, it is possible to make binding contracts with payments that will be paid right after the action. So, it is possible to make offers like "I'll let you use that Metals, if I'll get the copper".

So, here are my thoughts on strategy:

There is a surplus of money in the game, except in the end, when money is all that matters. It is very rare to run out of money (and if you do, it is not necessarily a bad sign), so you don't have to worry about cashing in your investments until late in the game. Consequently, at the early stages of the game, there is no need to use much of your resources to deliver large orders, for instance. If there's an opening for you to deliver a message or an order and it doesn't cost you much extra, then by all means go for it. But be very careful not to waste your 1:1 or Any Good -cards, or pay too much for the delivery action too early.