aka Tankboy wrote:
So I'm lucky enough to have found an opponent and we started up a Vassal game with Grossbeeren to begin hashing out the rules. Unfortunately, a snag right from the get-go.
Since Bertand is not a Commander, he has to roll against his initiative first in order to put his IV Corp under Command, correct?
And, what happens in this case if one of the startup Mode cards put one of the Formations into Road March? Formations in Road March are considered under command if anther unit (within 2 hex's) is under command? This doesn't work if Bertrand fails his initiative roll first thing.
Any direction here would be greatly appreciated.
Assuming you're using TLNB rules or interpretations (close enough for 4LB), officer (value in parentheses) have to roll for command if they are not assigned a command point. Commander-officers have value in square brackets and must use their first command point on themselves. I seem to recall Bertand is a normal officer.
Your interpretation of missing an initiative roll is true. Usually scenarios allow you to write one march order if you have a commander that starts on the board. So if that was applied to Bertand in the above example, the initiative roll becomes moot.
If there isn't a march order possible to assist with Bertand's corps in road march, then recall that if you don't make the roll in the organization phase, you get another attempt to do so during the initiative movement phase.
Good luck with the game. It's a scenario that can go many different ways.
All the best,