Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob combat question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill K
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Forgive me if this is a noob question, but when u enter combat with a monster, and you pass both the test , or fail the test, do u keep fighting till you or monster is dead? Or does the turn end after both test and damage done, and u must continue next turn if u want ?
Thanx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Only one "combat round" so to speak, ie one batch of will-then-strength tests is made, any damage caused or avoided is done and suffered, then you're done with that monster for the round.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
However, just to be clear; you get one combat round with each monster at the same location. So you could defeat multiple monsters in one encounter 'turn'.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Burton
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you get one combat round with each monster even if you don't kill the first one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
jack b wrote:
Do you get one combat round with each monster even if you don't kill the first one?


Yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david harris
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Also important to note. If there is an Epic monster on the space, you should fight him last.
In addition to this, some weapons and perks only apply to one combat. (they are marked on the cards) so don't expect to use them against every monster in the space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
redimpz wrote:
Also important to note. If there is an Epic monster on the space, you should fight him last.
Is that an expansion rule or actually errataed into the base game now? I forget.
Either way, may as well include it in base anyway (much like Focus) so it's worth mentioning, yeah.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Weltenreiter wrote:
redimpz wrote:
Also important to note. If there is an Epic monster on the space, you should fight him last.
Is that an expansion rule or actually errataed into the base game now? I forget.
Either way, may as well include it in base anyway (much like Focus) so it's worth mentioning, yeah.


No, that was a rule introduced in Forsaken Law, it doesn't officially apply if you're only using the base game, although there's nothing to stop you using it as you say.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.