Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Vinci» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a Civ that's lost cohesion be put into decline? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Iain K
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Question,

If at the beginning of your turn, your civilization lacks cohesion, can you declare your civilization in decline?

If so, do you loose the separated provinces or do they go into decline with the rest of your empire?


This came up in a recent game and our group agreed that the answer to both questions was "yes, the separated provinces can go into decline with the rest of the empire" because you declare your empire in decline at the start of your turn, declining empires do not need to have cohesion, and your active empire only needs to have cohesion at the end of your turn.

What's your take?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Akke Monasso
Netherlands
Aalten
Achterhoek
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
citizen k wrote:

If at the beginning of your turn, your civilization lacks cohesion, can you declare your civilization in decline?

If so, do you loose the separated provinces or do they go into decline with the rest of your empire?

This came up in a recent game and our group agreed that the answer to both questions was "yes"

What's your take?


You are right, even though you can't really answer the second question with "yes".
Yes, you can decline a civ without cohesion. No, it wouldn't loose any provinces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can go into decline to avoid having to reconnect your civ.

No, you would not lose half of the civ since declining civs don't need to have cohesion.

Sounds like you played it correctly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain K
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Akke wrote:

You are right, even though you can't really answer the second question with "yes".


Sorry, I edited the question after I'd posed the answer.



I've now fixed the issue for posterity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten D. de Jong
Netherlands
Zaandam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
citizen k wrote:
This came up in a recent game and our group agreed that the answer to both questions was "yes, the separated provinces can go into decline with the rest of the empire" because you declare your empire in decline at the start of your turn, declining empires do not need to have cohesion, and your active empire only needs to have cohesion at the end of your turn.

You, dear sir, are absolutely correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.