Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Space Dealer» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do cylinders limit how many demands you can fill? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyone know if the number of cylinders you have is supposed to be a limit on how many demands you can fill?
I didn't think this would ever be a problem - then Lisa managed to get both extra timers, the extra ship, and two fusion mines producing all four colors. She ran out of red cylinders, and we grabbed some orange cylinders so she could keep filling demands.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Adams
Australia
Oakleigh
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
A fan of new Knizia games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The victory point markers? If she runs out, she wins... doesn't she? That's one of the two ways for the game to end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Eaton-Salners
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also ran out of cylinders in the game I played at BGG CON (basic game without the extra timer/ship in play). Someone told us that you can't fill demands if you run out of cylinders.

Next time, I'll be sure not to claim any of the low value spots so that I can save my cylinders for the more valuable positions. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dougadamsau wrote:
The victory point markers? If she runs out, she wins... doesn't she? That's one of the two ways for the game to end.


Ah ha! We had totally missed that Doug. The game does indeed end if a player places all their victory markers.
However, the rules don't indicate that the player wins automatically - just that the game ends. I would assume you then count score normally. Though it seems highly likely that the player who has used all her markers will win at that point!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Adams
Australia
Oakleigh
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
A fan of new Knizia games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StormKnight wrote:
dougadamsau wrote:
The victory point markers? If she runs out, she wins... doesn't she? That's one of the two ways for the game to end.


Ah ha! We had totally missed that Doug. The game does indeed end if a player places all their victory markers.
However, the rules don't indicate that the player wins automatically - just that the game ends. I would assume you then count score normally. Though it seems highly likely that the player who has used all her markers will win at that point!


Good point - I assumed she'd win, but of course you have add everything up
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.