Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Road to Enlightenment» Forums » General

Subject: Why No 'Buy Card Action' In Version Two Rules? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

I have been playing through the v2 rules the last week, and I have been quite enjoying it and can't wait to have my group try it. I'm pleased with everything so far, but did have one question: Why is there no action to allow you to "buy" cards? I know you draft at the end of the turn, which is good, and creates tension for turn order. But I have found the Reorganize Action to be kind of not worth it. My deck is never that big that I need to waste an action to do a Reorganize to get another card in my hand. Why not allow the player to draw a new card or grab one of the ones face up? Since you only get 2/3 actions a turn, this would still be a tough choice. (Or make the player pay Wealth+_____ to get a new card?)

(Though I could see where if you did the above it might skew the Art//Science/Religious Censuses or make them easier to deal with).

I'm thinking of a house rule to allow a player the option of picking up a new card during the turn, like Exhuast 3 Wealth + 3 Politics/Ideas, or something like that to buy a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Durst
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds legit. Try it out and see how it goes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wario83 wrote:
Sounds legit. Try it out and see how it goes.


I think I will. I think just using up one of your two actions is enough of a big deal, but I think I'll go with spend 3 Wealth + ______ (1 or 2 of the card you are trying to get. like if you want to get an Art card, you'd have to spend 2 art or something like that)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roger cox
United States
Spartanburg
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh no--a game with 2 versions of rules already I just bought it today. Should have researched it more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.