Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Engler
Canada
Ancaster
Ontario
flag msg tools
@cengler42 on Instagram
badge
Don't get caught watching the paint dry.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing pen & paper role-playing games (RPGs) for over twenty years and I have to say that Savage Worlds is a system that is obviously the product of many years of game desinger wisdom. The motto of "Fast! Furious! Fun!" is certainly the best way to describe what you'll experience when you play Savage Worlds.

As with any RPG, the fate of the game lies squarely on the shoulders of the game-master (GM). Savage Worlds makes no secret of the fact that it was a system designed with the GM in mind. Savage Worlds makes so many aspects of a GM's job simple and fast which leaves more time and mental energy for the GM to devote to creating and narrating a compelling story.

Savage Worlds has a cinematic action feel to it and divides everyone in the game into two broad categories: extras and wild cards. Wild cards are player characters (PCs) and the GM's significant non-player characters (NPCs); extras are everyone else. There is a very clear distinction between extras and wild cards and this, from the start, makes it clear how wild cards are a cut above everyone else.