Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Large monster double move actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Contreras
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ettin in question

Do they get all six movement points to use and then expand

Or

Move three - interrupt (expand) and continue move 3 second action
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You'll probably get different answers to this.

You only get to expand the monster if you are interrupting the movement to perform a different action or ending its movement for the turn. As I interpret it, that means that if you plan to move twice and have no reason to stop, then you don't get to expand in the middle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You place the figure on the map (expand from the single space to the full base size) when you interrupt a move to perform another action, or when the move action ends. In either case, the large monster is free to either:

1) perform one move action completely, expand, and then declare a second shrinking to any of the monster's spaces)

or

2) Perform a move action, interrupt it to perform another move action (expanding when you interrupt) and then spending all movement points.

Option 1 is good for moving extra spaces. Option 2 can be used by a large monster trying to get through a hallways where it can't expand in the middle if it took its move actions separately.

Either scenario results in large monsters having the option of moving "free" spaces. This is compensated for by giving large monsters low speeds. A monster cannot interrupt its move action without reason- it must be performing another action, or an ability must be interrupting its movement (for example, when the wildlander uses "nimble," the large monster can- and must- be placed on the map before the wildlander moves. If the large monster can't fit, the wildlander can't use nimble. Additionally, when the monster's movement resumes, it can choose any space to shrink to, just like when it started the move action.

It is important to remember that the large monster also cannot declare an interrupting action unless it would be able to perform said action from its shrunken space. That is, a shrunken shadow dragon cannot declare an attack against a hero who is 3 spaces away while moving, since the shadow dragon is melee. The dragon's 1x1 space must be adjacent to the target space. However, once the movement is ended (at the end of a move action, no longer interrupted) and the figure is on the map, it doesn't matter which space the dragon uses to attack.

Some groups houserule that large monsters must use a consistent shrink space when interrupting a move action (you must shrink back to the space you expanded from) but that is not part of the rules as written.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian H.
Germany
Weilburg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Evil Overlord
badge
Evil Overlord
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A great explanation! thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Stripling
United States
Lowell
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the movement action just gives you movement points, you can also declare both actions before moving (essentially interrupting your first action while you're already expanded).
-ryanjamal
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.