Can i pop a bunch of shiv, crowbar and spike on the corps turn, just to draw cards with Geist?
Or do i have to actually break subroutines to use the trash ability?
You can't break subroutines outside an encounter (that's due to be added to the FAQ if it's not already in there)
And.. does Same old thing/SMC trigger Geist ability? Or does it have to be purely Trash: ability.
Pretty sure that works; as long as it includes a trash. EDIT: To qualify that, a [click] ability is one that includes one or more [clicks] as part of the cost. I assume a [trash] ability to be the same thing.