Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Researcher question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card says

As an action, you may give (or a
player can take) any City card from
your hand. You must both be in the
same city. The card does not have
to match the city you are in.


Assuming I am at the same city of the Researcher... Is this right?:

1) He (The Researcher) has 2 blue cards, I have 3 blue cards, it is the begining of my turn, can I use 2 actions to take the researcher cards (2 share knowledge actions) and then use one action more to find the cure, and still have one action more?

2)He (the Researcher) has 2 blue cards, I have 3 blue cards, it is the begining of the Researcher turn. Can he use 3 actions to take my blue cards, then use his last action to find the cure?

Why I doubt, besides my language is not English and I can understand things wrong...

The manual says....

As an action, the Researcher may give any City card from
her hand to another player in the same city as her, without
this card having to match her city. The transfer must be
from her hand to the other player’s hand, but it can occur
on either player’s turn.


This part... from the researcher hand to the other player´s hand clarify me a little, and it seems that the Researcher cannot take any card from the other player, so it seems that it happen in only one direccion, but... it can be done in the Researcher turn (where she/he would give the cards to the player) or in the player turn (where the player will take the cards from the Researcher).

3) So if a Researcher wants a card from a player, she/he needs to be at the city named in the card she/he is looking for, at the same time the owner of the card is in that city, and can only take that card.


Thank you.
Eduardo.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes
No
Yes

You've got it right. The ability is for cards that leave the researcher's hand (regardless of who spends the action). The normal rules apply when the researcher receives cards.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Schoukroun
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes
2) No
3) Yes

There is another character in of the expansion that does the opposit of the researcher, if I remember right (can take cards that are not the city card currenlty in).

EDIT: There is always someone faster than you on this forum :-)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
This Mango Is Off!
United Kingdom
Cowes
Isle of Wight
flag msg tools
That's going to happen, I don't think.
badge
Will I shut the holy hell up?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ecominguez wrote:
and then use one action more to find the cure


You must, of course, be in a research station to do this part.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for your answers! and...

pricero1 wrote:
ecominguez wrote:
and then use one action more to find the cure


You must, of course, be in a research station to do this part.


Now I understand why we won the game that everyone says is very difficult to win...
Yesterday night was our first game ever and we won... I knew we were doing something wrong... you found it!.

After reading you I went to the manual where it says...

Discover a Cure
At any research station, discard 5 City cards of the same color from your
hand to cure the disease of that color


We were doing the cure at any place, with or without research station :-).

Thank you!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some people do the opposite: they think that not only must they be at a research station, they must be at one in a city of the same color as the disease they want to cure. Not so. It can be any station.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Late to the party, but I'll chip in for extra

1) Yep, that looks good

2) Afraid not, no - on either turn the cards go from the Researcher to the other player - they can go to the Researcher but has to follow the normal rules.

3) Yep - see second part of above q...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.