Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: No EZOC rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark of carnage
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
How does this work?

In a mobile attack a hex is advanced into and the 'No EZOC' marker placed. Does this marker stay for the entire time the advancing unit is activated or simply to allow it to advance into the hex it has just taken?

If it stays for the duration of the attacking unit's activation can that unit leave an enemy unit's EZOC if that EZOC is where the 'No EZOC' counter has been placed?

All seems pretty obvious but I want to be 100% sure as 5.3.7 states:

'If a unit does advance after Combat, the advancing unit ignores all EZOC as it enters the defender's hex. After it is in that hex, it may continue moving provided it performed a Mobile Attack and has movement points remaining. If it's in an EZOC, see EZOC Restrictions (4.2.3.1)'

So the last sentence appears to suggest an attacking unit is affected by EZOC's presumably stopping it leaving the hex with the 'No EZOC' counter in.

However, on 'No EZOCS' 15.17 states:

'It is removed at the end of the phasing ground unit's activation.'

So that suggests a unit leaving a 'No EZOC' hex ignores all 'EZOC's' for their entire activation. Is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the rest of the phasing unit's activation, it ignores all EZOC in the hex in which a No EZOC marker is located.

Basically, there is no EZOC in that hex (for that active unit) so it may leave that hex if it has movement points remaining.

Don't forget to remove the No EZOC marker after the unit's activation ends.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We never actually use the markers. It's so easy to remember because you're literally moving the unit 5 seconds after determining that there's no enemy EZOC.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.