Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pursuit move and gaining ground? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Sperling
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

Is it possible to attack a unit (unit retreats 2 hexes), then pursuit 2 hexes and attack that unit again (unit is destroyed or retreats again) and then gain ground?

So, a blue cavalry unit could possibly move 6 hexes a turn: 3 Movement and 3 Battle (2 pursuit and 1 gaining ground).

Is that right?

Thanks in advance

Greetings,
Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Sperling
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Matchstickman wrote:
Note that the cavalry could move 2 hexes in pursuit even if the defending unit only retreated 1 hex, if you say wanted to block thier retreat in your pursuit attack.

Yes, that's clear.

Greetings,
Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Price
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Glos
flag msg tools
mbmb

Err... I'm not sure that is correct - move 1 hex for gain ground (for all units) into the vacated hex, then mounted may pursue 1 additional hex beyond that vacated and get a bonus attack. Then stop, no further gain grounds/pursuits or extra attacks.

Steve P
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I don't have the actual rules in hand yet (grrr Canadian distribution) but I'm pretty certain Steve is correct (and Richard wrong).

You can only pursue+attack once.

Pursuit is gaining ground (entering the vacated hex), optionally followed by one more space of movement. Thus, it's impossible to get into a position to both attack the just-retreated unit *and* be in position to block a retreat (unless some command or lore card allows you to move further than normal in pursuit). The best you could do is get beside such a unit, you could not get behind it if you only have one space of movement from having gained ground to the spwace it just retreated from.

It is, of course, possible to use the pursuit move (again, one hex from the vacated hex) to get into a position behind a *different* enemy unit, and attack that one whilst blocking one of its retreat hexes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
John Coltrane - Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is the rule, beginning with the final paragraph of page 29:

"An attacking unit in pursuit, that successfully completes a Bonus Melee attack and eliminates or pushes back its target, is eligible to gain ground but cannot make another pursuit action."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Sperling
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

I have asked the question in the German forums, too.
So Richard and George are right.
Thanks.

Greetings,
Chris


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Sorry, the description given in the blog appears to have been incomplete (it made no mention of gaining ground from a bonus melee attack).

However, unless everything that DoW staff have posted on forums so far is wrong... Richard's second paragraph is also incorrect. And, technically speaking, your 3 bonus movement is 2 Gaining Ground and 1 Pursuit (not 2 pursuit and 1 gaining ground).

Richard wrote "Note that the cavalry could move 2 hexes in pursuit even if the defending unit only retreated 1 hex, if you say wanted to block thier retreat in your pursuit attack."

This doesn't work. A pursuit is 2 hexes movement but the first hex MUST be Gaining Ground. So, with only one hex of movement from the space the defending unit retreated, it's impossible for regular pursuit movement to get your cavalry into a position to block a rerteat path for that same unit in your bonus attack.

That is, unless everything Eric's been posting all these months has been wrong. Again, I don't have the rulebook yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Allen
United States
Madison
Alabama
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you make the gaining ground movement with cavalry, can the pursuit move be to ANY empty hex thats adjacent to where they have moved? In the rules it shows an example of them moving forward toward the enemy side, and one example that shows you can return to your original hex, but can you move backward toward your side into the hex adjacent to the hex you started from? That doesn't seem to be clearly defined in the rules or shown as an example so I would assume the answer to that would be yes. ??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.