Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Temple of Elemental Evil Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: targeting diagonal tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Parkes
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
When is it allowed to target diagonal tiles?

Vark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Daum
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only two cases I can think of:
1) If the power says attack an adjacent monster.
2) If the power says attack within 2 tiles and you could "move" to that monster without crossing a wall.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Parkes
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
So, is it the case that Targeting from tile to tile can only be up or down (North or south) Or left or right (East or West) when counting Tiles?

Our group cannot agree on this!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vark wrote:
So, is it the case that Targeting from tile to tile can only be up or down (North or south) Or left or right (East or West) when counting Tiles?

Our group cannot agree on this!


Exactly. When counting tile (for targeting, distance or movement) you cannot count them diagonally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Shaud
United States
Landisville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Shop at GameSurplus.com
badge
Shop at GameSurplus.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You could target a diagonal tile, but it would be 2 tiles away as you can't count diagonally.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor Beaklini
msg tools
Vark wrote:
So, is it the case that Targeting from tile to tile can only be up or down (North or south) Or left or right (East or West) when counting Tiles?

Our group cannot agree on this!


Yes, however when using a power or ability that has a range of two tiles or more, you can do left -> up, or right -> down. Talon's Longbow ability for example can hit a monster one tile left then one tile south (2 tiles total).

But not go diagonally, like southwest or northeast.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Stewart
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vark wrote:
Our group cannot agree on this!
How can your group not agree on this when it's in the rulebook (p.5):
Quote:
If you are counting tiles, you never count diagonally;
Granted, that's talking about Diagonal Movement", but the same counts for targeting (p.9)
Quote:
Targeting
When you decide to attack, first determine which Monsters your Hero can target. A power specifies what Monsters you can target, ranging from only Monsters in an adjacent square to a Monster as far as 2 tiles away.

Remember the difference between squares and tiles when making attacks (see page 5).

Most important, keep in mind that you can never trace a diagonal path between tiles. If a power lets you attack a Monster within 1 tile of your Hero, that does not include Monsters on a Dungeon tile that is diagonal to your Hero’s tile. You also cannot attack a Monster within 1 tile of your Hero if a wall completely blocks the path between the Hero’s tile and the Monster’s tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.